pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wedding Bells, Old Friends and The Distant Rumble of War

Hello from Lost Wages, Nevada!

Well, my son did it. I've gained a daughter-in-law. Yes, the kid got married last night here in Las Vegas! They had a really nice wedding at one of them "Chapel O' Love" kinda places over near the Sahara. Got a limo ride from the Treasure Island, where they are staying, and found out they'd forgotten to apply for the freakin' license because they'd spent the day in a frustrating manner looking for shoes to fit Sarah.

She wore a nice simple wedding gown and Chris wore dress clothes and a vest - no jacket. They were expecting it to be quite a bit warmer here than it was. Seems we all arrived just in time for the cold streak to hit... of course.

But I watched him tie the knot and it got me choked up. I "gave away" the bride and her cousin and girlfriend acted as best man and maid of honor. Took lots of pictures too.

Made me want to call Johanna and say, "let's get back together." But I know she won't. She's been hurt too bad by this low-life scum that's been married to her for 20+ years.

But sometimes I miss my home and the comfort of an old relationship... even if we weren't always comfortable.

I'm proud of you, Chris. Sarah's a good lady. Congratulations! I love you both!

Also got to see my old best friend from San Diego who now lives out here. Dave, otherwise known as "Da Fatman" met me at my hotel and it was as if we'd seen each other yesterday.

I don't make many guy friends and can count the number of CLOSE guy friends on both hands (take away those related to me and it's on ONE hand, excluding the thumb!). Dave and I have always had an easygoing relationship and it's comforting to hang out with him.

One of my adopted sons, a boyscout, a neighborhood kid, my sons best friend and a fellow pyro went off to Iraq this week. Mike Hunnicutt grew up with my son, was in scouts with us and was one of the first guys we "inducted" into our pyro crew outside of family. Now he gets to go see things blow up in a different setting. He and his reserve outfit will be there for the next year. I hope he comes back safe and in one piece. I told him, "Shoot first and ask questions later." Another of those "good friends" I talked about.

Well, I'm in a sadly nostalgic mood right now, so I'm going to go off and just meditate.

2:15 p.m. - 2004-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble