pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wowsers

I am constantly amazed at the talent in my writers group and I guess they are just as amazed at me. We have spun off a poetry group called "The Poetry Cafe" and Desiree has been running it quite efficiently. She is evil, though! She's had us write "villanelles" for the next meeting. Probably one of the most difficult forms of poetry to do well - besides a sonnet, that is.

So I've been beating my head against the wall and whaddaya know, two villanelles popped out! We shall see what the next poetry meeting holds.

I went to Syracuse last weekend to perform a marriage ceremony. Yes, I said "perform." Back in the late 70's I sent in my $10 and two box tops from my favorite cereal to get my "Minister" certification from the Universal Life Church. I used to perform all sorts of ceremonies... even "marrying" pets for pet owners (hey, they were weird but they had cash when I needed it... so if they wanted to give me $50 to make sure that Fluffy and Foo Foo weren't fornicating out of wedlock, well.... don't call the men in the white coats until AFTER the ceremony and AFTER I've been paid!).

But that was 27 years ago.

Two dear net-friends of mine asked me last year to officiate, but then decided not to do the deed. Then, three or four weeks ago, I get an IM saying, "Hey, we need you!"

I performed a wonderfully simple ceremony in Baltimore Woods in Marcellus NY for them... and was up until 4 am the previous night watching them make their wedding cake. Yeah, it was chaos, but we all had a great time. They liked the ceremony that I wrote especially for them.

I had a bunch more stuff I was going to write here, but I can't remember it now. Perhaps my memory will jog later on.

Oh yeah... I remember now. If any of you watch "House" on Tuesdays... last night they "performed a procedure" that was actually developed by a high school classmate of mine! The young girl that was the subject of the program had an "undetectable" brain clot and was dying. They lowered her body temp to the point where she was "clinically dead" for a minute, draw the blood out and then inject it back in with a "marker" to find the clot.

Yep, was one of my classmates. He was also a twin. We had 9 sets of twins in my class... no other class has had such a high percentage.

12:26 a.m. - 2005-09-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble