pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WANTS

I had a bit of an epiphany yesterday. You see, my family sends me Borders gift cards when they don't know what else to get me. I don't mind, because I usually find some neat things.

However, I've run into a problem this year.

I'm not sure what I want anymore.

It used to be that, if given somewhere between $25 and $100 in gift cards, I would head right to the science fiction section and pick up a dozen or so books. Yesterday, I walked into that section and didn't know 90% of the authors. I've "experimented" some with authors and found a lot of the "hard" sci fi to be lacking in "story." Then I look at the soft sci fi and find it to be mostly "fantasy" of either the Dungeons & Dragons sort or of the airy-fairy sort.

I want someone to replace Robert Heinlein. Everyone says "Alan Steele." But I've read his books... he's no Robert Heinlein! I miss Asimov, I miss Brunner, Goulart and Dickson. Spider Robinson writes less and less. I've tried to get into several of Prachett's novels that Kat owns, but it just doesn't hold my interest!

I keep falling back on the tried-and-true of my past - those authors mentioned above and some mystery writers of interest; Dashiell Hammett, Nick Carter, P.D. James, Ian Fleming...
I'm just finding it hard to "get into" anyone.

It's not that I can't sit and read. I've gone through McCullough's tome on Adams and found that fascinating. I've done a couple books by Ellis on Washington and the Founding Brothers. I look at those people they've capured in their prose with awe. So maybe truth is stranger than fiction. (I'm halfway wondering when Wm. Manchester will finish the third book in his trilogy on Churchill)

Maybe I'm just getting more interested in the characters I'm creating... but I want to pull my hair out when I can't find a book that I really really want!

12:49 a.m. - 2006-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble