pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rant

This is a rant. Y'all don't have to read it... I'm just blowing off some steam and this is the only place I've ever been able to do it properly.

I need some online sanity. Other than here, nobody really posts anything other than their game status or reposting the smirks of political pundits. And then they get offended if you don't automatically agree with them.

I am of the belief that you; a.) don't post things unless you are willing to accept comment that may not agree with your opinion; b.) you accept comment like an adult and not flame the person that disagrees with you and; c.) you hold others to that standard as well or remove your post if it proves too inflammatory.

And then, people get upset because I don't post every detail of my life. People, my private life is p-r-i-v-a-t-e. I am not an attention whore and I don't collect "friends" to show how popular I am. I don't write in my journal to garner sympathy. I freely admit I have had problems, but I also know that I am the only one that can change that aspect of me.

And really, NOTHING ticks me off more than a person that gets pissed off because I don't respond in the proscribed manner and deletes me, then comes back two weeks later wanting to friend me again. Sorry, honey. I've been trying to cut down my friends list to a manageable number for quite some time now. You voluntarily left, making my job easier.

And now, my latest chuckle has to be the people that defend those that are obviously "bots" in places like facebook and other "social networks." Come on, people. Read the responses. Look at your email. When I get 10 emails in 3 days from a person I don't really know, but who wants to be "chatty" yet says nothing of substance, that's a bot, not a human. You know what we called these "social networks" in the 90's? Bulletin Board Services. I swear, we're going backwards!

I do miss the old days of the net when people were friendlier and much more civil. Maybe it's because I come from a generation where we spent a lot of our developmental years making face-to-face friends. I'm sorry if this offends anyone, but I've been saying this for 15 years... until I actually talk to you on the phone or meet you personally, you are all still ghosts in the machine.

*deep breath & heavy exhale* There, I've unloaded. You can all go back to whatever you were doing. Nothing to see here, now.

10:39 p.m. - 2011-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble