pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dust, Sushi and Kisses

Ahhh, another week of dusty camping, fairly decent food (I'm a damn good cook, believe me!)and hot sweaty work on the weekends lugging a 7 lb dragon we call a "Zard" around on my arm shouting out "Here be dragons! Soft-sculpture dragons for sale! Hand-made dragons! Unique gifts for unique people! Kiss a dragon for good luck! Hug the 'Zard or kiss the bard (that's me, btw)!" All that is done in a somewhat British accent. Right now, the Zard is slightly ahead in the kiss and hug department, but I've had pecks from a few cuties! *grins*

We found a really neat sushi place nearby. All you can eat for just 12 bucks. I'm a raw fish predator now! MMMM... wasabi!

Anyhow, you'd think that, with all the free time during the week that I'd have plenty of time to do things. Such is not the case. Between coming here to Henry's to get on the net, doing laundry, shopping, cooking, cleaning, helping with the dragons and such, I don't have nearly as much time to write as I'd like. That and the positions for writing in a tend aren't really conducive to constructing a story.

Still haven't heard from Wench yet, though I've talked to a few other folks. I really miss my talks with her, but it's still gonna be several weeks before that happens.

Went with Henry to the children's nursing home last Thursday. It was a sad thing to see. Kids born with severe birth defects, kids in there due to parents taking drugs when they were pregnant, kids in there because they were hit by cars or because of family violence or just the violence in the street is really... disheartening. These kids are in a prison for crimes they didn't commit!

I went to the festival office to see if I could drum up some entertainment for these kids, but they're all booked out. But I'll try and get the ball rolling for next year.

Seems we've impressed our neighbors in the camp. One of them, Carol Black, is on the board for something called RESCU, which I think stands for Renaissance Entertainers, Service, Crafters and something or other. It's an organization designed to help Rennies that don't have insurance or need help with family members and stuff. Sorta like the Rotary of the Renny community. I've been asked to help with insurance issues and maybe with finance. We'll see. Carol and I have to get together later this week to talk.

Friday, I went to see Minstrals of Mayhem again at a bar for "the great Guiness Toast." Seems there was a world-wide toast to all sponsored by Guiness. It was a lot of fun and I got to know another Renny that goes by the name of "Rayvin Lunatic." A very funny person! We and a few others had fun dancing and just being silly.

Speaking of silly... somehow, I managed to walk off with a "souvenier" pint glass with "Harp Lager" emblazoned on it. I'm so bad!

Anyway. We had a fairly good weekend. Saturday only grossed about $250 but on Sunday, the Needle Fairy, one of the vendors there, (the owner)came by and bought four adult dragons for her staff because they'd been working so hard and they saw me in the parade with the dragons. They told her about us, so she came by and bought them. That made the weekend much better, but still not as good as the second weekend. I keep telling Kat that we have to give these festivals at least TWO tries, so we will probably be back next year.

The folks I met from Valparaiso, IN, are not as tolerant. They are artists and are not doing well at all, so they have decided to pull out of the renfair biz altogether. They cancelled (and lost their deposit) on several other fairs and sold their tent... *grins* to us! Now I get to go do fairy festival while Kat goes to Kurtztown! Yippie! Fairy Fest is FUN!

Other than that, I can't really think of much more happening. Had sushi last night and taught another craft neighbor (Wolfgang and Shelly) how to play Fluxx. These folks are from Canada and are trying to convince us to go to the Canadian festivals.

That's all for now. I miss all of the folks at CEA and I miss talking to Wench. Ah well. Hopefully I'll get to talk to her in a few weeks.

2:28 p.m. - 2004-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble