pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meandering in a Political Minefield

I'm just really curious... why is it that many of my favorite people online are my complete political opposite? I mean, most of the people I really really like are flaming liberals. We get along soooo well otherwise, but lord help us if we ever have a political discussion because the only place we'd agree would be to DISagree. (And, I guess if James Carvelle and Mary Matlin can be married, have kids and be on opposite ends of the political spectrum, anything else is possible! *LOL*)

OK, even though I said in that political rant that I did NOT want any feedback on it (I really don't. It's my opinion and it's not very likely to change much - having been developed from over 30 years of observation and study - though I WILL listen to your opinion and quietly point out where you're wrong without getting all emotionally worked up and calling you names) I'd like to point my friends TO that rant and have them read it.

The June 2003 edition of the Science Fiction magazine, ANALOG, had a really great story in it called "The Power of Visions" by Charles E. Gannon. If you can get a copy of it, I'd recommend reading it. It doesn't preach any particular political line, but it DOES point out that being a radical fundementalist muslim is just the same as being a radical fundementalist christian or radical anything! It also pointed out that you can take the bible, the koran or any other obtuse religious tract and reinterpret the words to fit your own twisted views.

Fundementalism of any type is simply wrong and should be contained as much as possible. And that applies to liberalism as well.

When you can't look at the facts and base all your beliefs only on emotional arguments, then you've simply become a close-minded fundementalist (which is why I feel many liberals are hypocrites).

I have severe disagreements with Mr. Bush on some of his domestic policies and his expanding the government rather than shrinking it as Ronald Reagan attempted to do (and was thwarted at every turn by a very liberal congress). I don't think that George W is beyond criticism. He's human and entitled to be wrong, just as much as most liberals believe Clinton was. The main difference is that, when he is wrong, he doesn't try to weasle-word his way out of it (as per Mr. Clinton's obtuse arguement about "...it depends on what your definition of 'is' is."

I find it interesting that so many "love-child liberals" hate Mr Bush. These are the people that are supposed to truly be compassionate. Instead, they show their true colors as emotional robots, merely mouthing what they hear in the media. I never "hated" Bill Clinton. I found him to be charming in a smarmy, elitist sort of way (i.e., a typical lawyer), but I don't hate the man... I simply disagree with his politics and political views. I do not like Hillary Clinton one bit, I wouldn't invite her to my home or rush to save her if she were drowning in a pool, but I don't hate her either. I do think that she's a power-hungry elitist, potential dictator-in-waiting, just like Tipper Gore was (don't think Tipper was? Ahem... who was it that wanted record companies to "eliminate" all types of rock, rap and heavy metal from their catalogs, but finally settled by "allowing" them to put "explicit lyrics" stickers on the CD cases - which backfired for her because it just increased sales. And where were all the "atheist" liberals out there when she was doing this "because this music was unchristian?" She was just as much a fascist as Hillary was and she tried to do this "in the name of Christianity" but I don't remember any liberals (OR the media) getting upset over this. The only ones that really were concerned seemed to be Frank Zappa and those record companies that are now "the enemies" of all enlightened, liberal-thinking types. *shudder* Hillary and Tipper... They both scare me... moreso because liberals worship them in the same robotic way that they accuse conservatives of "blindly" following Rush)

The point of all this is that we are hearing nothing in the news other than all the "bad" things happening... whether here at home or in Iraq. And they do it not because "they are objective" or because "it's what the people want to here - or 'have a right to know'" it's because they have an agenda of HATE toward George W Bush.

Where Iraq is concerned, we don't hear about the families that are being helped, the schools that are being built, the jobs that are being created... this is "boring" news, according to a friend of mine that is a reporter over there... I mean, the editors of TV, magazines, radio and newspapers have determined what you, the consumers of these media, "want" to hear.

Really now, where was all the outrage and uproar when civilian people trying to get Iraq started again were kidnapped by thugs in Iraq, burned to death and then dragged through the streets? Oh, you don't care because "we shouldn't be there anyway?" Oh come on! THAT act by those murderous religious-fundementalist-muslim thugs was repulsive! Making a few Iraqi prisoners get nekkid and inserting a few other threats to get information that might have saved a soldiers life was NOTHING compared to what happened to those contractors. (And yes, I called them thugs. Let's be honest, Saddam Hussein and his lackeys were nothing more than Al Capone and his gang on a national scale).

If liberals keep going around saying "this war is unwinable, we should never be there and we should pull out," they are only aiding the small-time gangsters that remain in the streets over there. It is NOT the majority of people in Iraq that are acting this way... it is a small group that lost power and are constantly encouraged by leaders in this country that are "arguing" their case not because they believe in a "moral" stand but simply because want to further their own political careers.

Want the "whole" story (whether it's about "the war" George W or politics in general)? Try listening to PBS (Public Broadcasting), Rush Limbaugh and Sean Hannity for balance. You will get the compete, rounded, "both-sides" story that way.

Anyway, I have to go. I'm cooking a teryaki pork loin, baked taters, green beans in basalmic vinegar wrapped in prosciutto and pico de gallo with home made corn chips and I have to keep them from burning. Yes, I'm cooking for a household of liberals! *LOL*

7:42 p.m. - 2004-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble