pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hugs Needed

Sunday...

Was Mother's Day... Called the ex, called my son, called my mom and also talked to my brother (the one from Texas) who was visiting Mom. All reminded me... Sunday would also have been my dad's 83rd birthday. Didn't need the reminder as I was painfully aware of exactly what day it was.

I took a walk around the park when I was in Baltimore and tried to talk to him... He's not talking back to me right now.

*Sighs* I keep trying to buy this book of Runes that was once given to me by Sandra for my birthday. It was the one stolen with my car, my laptop and a bunch of my writing back in February 2002. This is the third time I've tried to buy it and for the third time, they either don't have it or the shipment's been "lost in the mail." I thought for sure that I would be able to get it now as I've purchased the new copy of Caitlin Matthews "Celtic Devotional." Then I remembered that Ms. Matthews rewrote the book for this latest reprinting. I've ordered her "old version" of the book three times as well, without luck.

OK, I can take the hint. I'm not supposed to get either of these because of the taint from Draski.

The festival wasn't all that good this weekend. Kat's been going through all sorts of emotional roller-coaster things... says it isn't that time of the month and doesn't know what's wrong, but she filled the tent with all sorts of negative energy all weekend. Started out with her usual bitching about other vendors kids coming into the tent and 'annoying' her first thing in the morning. I don't mind the kids coming in and making comments or just coming in to talk. I like kids, even if they are a bit socially inept at times. I know how socially inept I was at that age. They don't say things out of meanness, they do it because they put their mouths in motion before putting their brains in gear. Hell, if someone doesn't want my product and they leave, all fine and good. I'm not gonna bitch about it! I just mentally shout NEXT! I've told her I'm seriously considering kicking her out of the booth if she does it again. I work hard to fill it with a positive flow.

On the bright side, we found a couple tempting places up in York and Red Lion, PA. Just have to check them out on the next trip up that way.

This next weekend we go to Ashville, NC (about 145 miles east of us)for another Scottish Games festival.

I had a grand time at the "Donald" clan booth at this last fair in Frederick (I've ties to the clan through my ancestry. I've both "Folk" and "May" ancestors on my mother's side that are a part of the MacDonald Clan). Friendly bunch. Fed me beer, food, whiskey and jokes. They're a wonderful group of folks! Conservative Scots, by the tenor of their conversation. They also informed me that the American Nazi Party tried to get into the Southern Maryland Celtic Fest and Scottish Games as "vendors." I guess they thought that, because celtic fests tend to be mostly white, conservative Scots, Welsh and Irish that they'd be great targets for their hate messages. However, the jackbooted goons were told by the person running SMCF&SG to stick it where the sun don't shine because "my father fought the Nazi's in WWII and I'll be damned if I'll let you in here! This isn't a political festival!" Same thing I would have told that bunch of thugs!

Went by our booth at the Maryland Ren Faire site... It needs a lot of work on the roof. We probably need to put in somewhere between $1800 and $2500 worth of materials to fix it up before faire opens. *sighs* I hate heights... I hate steep roofs... and I'm gonna have to do it.

Maaike... Sarah... How does beef wellington with yorkshire pudding, garlic mashed potatoes with herbed butter and steamed candied baby carrots and pearl onions sound? Bring the wine and a healthy appetite!

DAMN!!! Yet another thing that didn't go right this weekend! I ordered flowers for Wenchies last play and they didn't get sent. Gotta call and find out why. DAMN. I even signed it "From all your friends at CEA. Break a leg, Wenchie! GRRRRRRR! I've never had this much trouble ordering stuff online!

Too much negative stuff happening overall this weekend. I may have to go into hibernation and stay offline for awhile. And to top it off, I had at least five shots of Bushmills last night to get to sleep and it didn't even give me a buzz. I didn't fall asleep until 4 am, then got up at 9 to drive 400 miles back down here to Raleigh.

I need a hug. Somebody got one to spare? Please???

9:47 p.m. - 2004-05-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble