pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book List

OK, it's 3:15 am and we just got in from York, PA to Raleigh. I've had waaaaaay too much caffeine to get any sleep, so I'm posting this crap.

I have a quest this summer and it looks like I just may fulfill it. I want to have read at LEAST 40 books. So far, the list looks like this:
"Legends, Lies & Cherished Myths of American History" by Richard Shenkman (my brother stole it from me a few years back before I had a chance to read it and I stole it back)
"Devices & Desires" by P.D. James (her writing is MUCH better than the Adam Dalgliesh mysteries on PBS which seemed so bloody boringingly and ploddingly English - this is the first time I've read a book and didn't know "who dunnit" by the middle!)
"Boones Lick" by Larry McMurtry (yes, I'm reading Westerns) and
"Out On A Limb" by Joan Hess (yet another whodunnit that didn't give everything away early!)
"Grumbles From The Grave" by Robert & Virginia Heinlein (OK, so I REread it... for about the 6th time... but I am now reading his latest, um... "first" book and just found another and bought it - a travelogue that he and Virginia wrote about their excursions to South America back in the 60's called "Tramp Royale"... part of which was in RAH's "Extended Universe")

This goal happens to be important to me because I used to devour a book a night... history, biographies, sci-fi, mysteries and such...

Means I might be on the net a little less, though. I'll be gone for the next 10 days anyway. I'm heading off to Indiana to shoot a bunch of fireworks shows with my cousin... we're doing the one for the "Advil Western Open Golf Classic" that is ALWAYS interesting.

On the way back, I'll be visiting a few folks such as Bies and Messie's sister.

Oh, and I finally heard from my son and got a "Happy (belated) Father's Day" from him. I'll be seeing him next week as well.

Look for me on Friday to chat a bit.

3:15 a.m. - 2004-06-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble