pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Joni Mitchell Day

A JONI MITCHELL DAY

Back when I was younger and feeling out of sorts (or if it was simply a rainy day), I would go through my record collection and dig out some Joni Mitchell � usually the �Blue� album � and then play it for hours. Joni had a special flair for lyrics. She painted songs the same way she painted pictures. Maybe she was better at songs. I admired her, though. I think I was in love with her at one point.

�Blue,� �Laurel Canyon,� �Both Sides Now� were my favorites, but �Blue� could really pull me out of a mood. I�ve not listened to that recording in years (can�t say �album� anymore� you kids won�t know what the fuck I�m talking about if I do! *grins*). So today I'll download it and see if it evokes the same release of mood or simply makes me cry and pine away for my youth. *sighs*

BOTH SIDES NOW

Bows and flows of angel hair and ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere, I�ve looked at cloud that way.
But now they only block the sun, they rain and snow on everyone.
So many things I would have done but clouds got in my way.

I�ve looked at clouds from both sides now,
From up and down, and still somehow
It�s cloud illusions I recall.
I really don�t know clouds at all.

Moons and Junes and ferris wheels, the dizzy dancing way you feel
As every fairy tale comes real; I�ve looked at love that way.
But now it�s just another show. You leave �em laughing when you go
And if you care, don�t let them know, don�t give yourself away.

I�ve looked at love from both sides now,
From give and take, and still somehow
It�s love�s illusions I recall.
I really don�t know love at all.

That song was always a favorite because it seemed to sum up �love� to me. Yes, it�s a cynical way to look at a complicated emotion, but when you finally DO feel love, you long for the� the� Well, Joni knew my heart. She put it this way:

The sleepless nights
The daily fights
The quick toboggan when you reach the heights
I miss the kisses and I miss the bites
I wish I were in love again

The broken dates
The endless waits
The lovely loving and the hateful hates
The conversations with the flying plates
I wish I were in love again

No more pain
No no more strain
Now I�m sane
But I�d rather be punch drunk

The flying fur of cat and cur
The fine mismatching of a him and her
I�ve learned my lesson but
I wish I were in love again

The furtive sigh
The blackened eye
The words I love you �til the day I die
The self-deception that believes that lie
I wish I were in love again

When love congeals
It soon reveals
The faint aroma of performing seals
The double-crossing of a pair of heels
I wish I were in love again

No more care
No more despair
Now I�m all there
But I�d rather be punch drunk

Believe me sir, I much prefer
The classic battle of a him and her
I don�t like quiet and I wish I were
In love again
In love again

Somebody told me yesterday that they loved me� not �in love� mind you, but loved me.

It made me smile and filled my soul for the first time in years.

I love you too!

12:57 p.m. - 2004-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble