pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pratchett and Heinlein

Two more books have been finished, bringing my total to 7 out of 25 so far!

The first was Terry Pratchett's "Monstrous Regiment." It was OK, but I've been told it's not his best work. Somewhat droll.

Second was Robert Heinleins "long-lost 'first' novel" called "For Us, The Living." And unless you are one of those nosy, peeping-tom types that want to see what kind of bullshit goes through a writers head before he can produce some really great works, I simply can't recommend this. I'm a big Heinlein fan, but this should never have been published! I felt like I violated his privacy by reading this. It's tripe, it's didactic, it's boring and it's even more preachy than his last two works. He makes Ayn Rand look like a novice in this one (and unless you've read the 40 page rant in Ayn Rand's "Atlas Shrugged" you won't understand just HOW bad this is!!!)

Unless you're doing it for historical perspective, don't bother with this stinker. Get his "Tramps Royale" non-fiction work instead (I'm reading it now to regain respect for the man!)

I'm on my way to Baltimore again. See you on Tuesday!

9:29 a.m. - 2004-07-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble