pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Umbrella Notes

Rain, rain, go away...

It seems that, since my sojourn back to Indiana to shoot fireworks, I've been inundated with wet weather. Four out of the five fireworks shows I worked on were rained upon most of the day. I spent more time "wet" than anything else. So much so, that I'm developing "webbing" between my toes! *Quack! Quack*

Couple that with all the nasty, sulpherous smoke I inhaled from shooting those fireworks and you have all the formula that spells "sinus infection." I had a headache for much of the week after the 4th. Three days ago, it began to drain and now has settled into my chest. Not really bad, but just enough to make me feel crappy, with that grungy feeling of fluid in the lungs, a constant hairball tickle in the back of the throat and a general feeling of yuck.

So, I will take it easy today and continue my reading and relaxing, perhaps sitting on Tiger's deck here in Baltimore, and enjoying things while everyone else watches TV or whatever. Kat will go up to the Philly area and visit her family and I will enjoy my day, filling my brain with knowledge, new information and stimulation.

This was the original plan: Kat was to attend her annual family gathering for her grandmothers 90th birtday and I was to attend a small arts & crafts show here in Baltimore while she did. This A&C show was to be held in the parking lot of a bank, so we had to buy a tent that didn't require stakes, "just in case it was going to rain a bit." Well, it's gonna rain A LOT today, so we figured we should just forego the $10 fee we paid to get in and we will take the unopened tent back to the store tomorrow for a refund.

Why am I not going up with Kat? Well, it seems that her family is not fond of me... or, rather, they are not fond of my particular political views. And here I thought liberals were supposed to be "open-minded and accepting." So much for that view, eh? She's pissed because, when folks were informed that I would be working a festival rather than attending this auspicious event, many of them expressed "obviously relief" in their tone of voice at the fact that I would not be attending the get-together. Personally, I could care less, one way or the other. Close-minded individuals of ANY ilk are never going to be on my "favorites" list, though I thought liberals were supposed to be compassionate and accepting. I'm actually coming to the conclusion that many or most of them are petty, self-righteous and self-centered - at least here on the east coast. I'm generally quiet when I'm at these gatherings and will ask individuals about how their life is going, but one or two folks in her family will always try and provoke a reaction from me in the political arena by making uninformed and inflammatory remarks. When I back up my rebuttal with facts and figures, it just confuzzles them and makes them angry... mainly because their arguments are based solely on emotions rather than reality.

Anyhow, screw them. I'm going to enjoy this rainy summers day and see if I can add one or two books to that list... though what I'm reading now - the latest "John Adams" biography - is quite formidible.

Had a wonderful phone conversation last night. It made me smile most of the rest of the evening. Thank you! (That's the "secret message" of the day, folks.

Time for me to get my books out of the car. Kat is getting ready to head northward. I'm going to cook some breakfast, cop a squat and read...

8:22 a.m. - 2004-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble