pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Drivel

It�s pouring cats and dogs outside and I�ve just ordered pizza as we await the fallout from the tropical storm and the impending hurricane. Raleigh is several hundred miles inland, so I�m fine there. We do have a tornado watch out, though.

Whew, it�s been a week! We got a call yesterday telling us that the roof on the booth at Faire is done. That�s a load off our mind. Now I have to go back up and put in the electrical circuit for our refrigerator and crock pot. Then we have to finish the interior.

The folks we are staying with are slowly packing up all their stuff and putting it into storage, so I�m �inheriting� a lot of interesting items. One of them is a web cam. Don�t know how well it will work, but we shall see. Another item is an assortment of computer speakers, a stereo receiver and speakers, a massaging pad, an assortment of books and book cases (the latter will be needed) and two twelve-paks of Heiniken beer. I think I�ll have a shot of whiskey at this point, thank you. I�ll save the beer for the pizza.

Had a hard time sleeping last night because of various aches and pains, plus I�m back to having things blowing on me. Again, I�d rather sweat than have something blowing on me, but the ceiling fan is on permanently, so I don�t really have a choice. Grrrrr.

I had a weird dream the other night that kept waking me up. I was on a sailing ship and there were a group of people on it, all dressed in black. As usual in my dreams, there were no faces, but I �knew� they were all �friends.� I was trying to jump overboard, into the water to �be with my true love.� In one dream, they were holding me back, in another version, they kept pulling me away from the side. Each time, I would wake up in a sweat, get my bearings and then fall back asleep, only to have one version or the other occurring. It wouldn�t have been so bad, except that I had to drive back to Raleigh the next day.

You know what I don�t see as I drive along the highway? Tobacco farms. I remember them as a kid, but I don�t see them now. I was always amazed at the big, leafy plants in neat rows. Now you don�t see them anymore. I was told that they have been moved further away from the interstates to keep them from being spoiled by the juvenile idiots attending college that take their beliefs far too seriously and think that they are �hurting� the tobacco companies (and not the small tobacco farmer, trying to make a living). I swear, they should probably have a required course in �common sense� taught to kids in high school before they allow them into college� or even graduate from high school! Keep in mind that I don�t smoke, I�m allergic to tobacco smoke and I�m opposed to smoking (I mean, if it were healthy to breathe in smoke, you�d see people running into burning buildings, right?), but the last I heard, tobacco was still legal. Sighs

Anyhow, for my birthday, I asked Kat if we could eat at Hooters because I love their buffalo wings and buffalo shrimp. I ordered 10 of each along with their curly fries and a beer. Kat agreed, but only if she could tell them that it was my birthday. I acquiesced.

Now, Kat�s full name is Elizabeth Kathryn. We got a Hooters Girl in training and a regular waitress� the waitresses name was Elizabeth and the trainee was called �Cat�. How weird is that? Anyhow, after I got done eating, they grabbed me and one other guy and pulled us up to the front of the restaurant, tied two balloons around my chest and announced my age (�25� of course) and then sang us the birthday song. It was all good, silly fun.

Oh, the day before, before we went to the booth to work on it, we stopped at the local Mickey D�s for breakfast. Now, I have to admit, I�m looking a bit scruffy, but this girl was in line with us and everyone was commenting about my half-awake look and were laughing because my beard is so dark and my hair so golden blond that I sorta looked like a surfer dude and that I �wasn�t bad for being almost 50.� They asked the cute blonde in line with us if that wasn�t true and she said, �Yeah, sorta, but in a cute kind of way!� So I just HAD to hug her for that. Not being awake, I sorta sloshed my coffee all over, dripping on me, her and mostly the floor. We all had a good laugh over that. These folks just CAN�T take me anywhere.

In more food news� good news is that our fav hangout for AFTER renfaire, Mr. Wang�s Hunan Sushi bar is still open. WHOOHOO.

Other than that, I�m cool. I�m going to go read more now.

Anyway, pizza's here...

MMMMMM!

PIZZZZZAAAAAAHHHH!

5:24 p.m. - 2004-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble