pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Memorium: Rick Dal Corobbo

Damn it...

Why does it seem like, every time I go to read my hometown newspaper online (www.nwitimes.com) that I read about someone I know either dying or getting killed?? This makes like 7 or 8 people that were either close or dear to me passing on in the last 12 months!

This time it was someone that was a joy to be around... someone that made things happen when all else seemed impossible. Someone who devoted much of his time to friends and community.

http://www.nwitimes.com/articles/2004/08/15/news/top_news/7361d641a14a9d5f86256ef10009e13e.txt

I knew Rick for many years while he was the town manager in Lowell, but I really got to know him about three years ago when I was approached to provide the Labor Day fireworks for the town's sesquicentennial (that's 150 years for you folks in Rio Lindo, CA). We would usually talk for awhile after the organizational meeting or I'd come visit him in his office during work hours. Lowell lost a wonderful guy when he moved north to manage Merrillville.

Look at his picture. It conveys his personality well. He was always quick with a joke or a smile and he rarely, if ever said "no" to anyone or anything. He was one of the few with that genuine, "can do" attitude.

Rick was one of the "good guys." I liked him a lot. His death is going to be a great loss to all of NW Indiana. I'm gonna miss you when I come back there, buddy.

4:42 p.m. - 2004-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble