pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I FEEL A DRAFT...

I FEEL A DRAFT�

Went to get the car�s oil changed today and then went to the store to grab a bite. Outside there were several female college students dressed smartly and alluringly (and one male dressed like a typical college student - jeans, t-shirt and a 100 hair goatee) that were trying to get people to register to vote. A similar thing happened to a friend of mine, Lindsey, out in Northern California. I had to laugh as it was now happened to me!

Now, I�m registered in the State of Indiana and I�m currently in North Carolina, but two things stood out here. One was the response I got when I said I was voting for Bush and the second was what this person did right after that.

Student A (the lone male): �Register to vote here! Only a few more days to register! Are you registered to vote sir?�

Me: �Yes. I�m a registered Republican and I�m voting for Bush.�

Student A: (Aghast) �For Bush?� (my guess is that my long hair and beard threw him off)

Me: �Yes.�

Student B (very attractively dressed): �Do you have any children?�

Me: �Yes�

Student B: �Did you know that Bush has a �secret plan� to bring back the draft?�

Me: �Must not be much of a secret if everyone knows about it.�

Student B: (Fervently) �He does! Just as soon as he�s re-elected, he�s going to put the draft into effect because nobody will be joining the military!�

Me: �What�s your major?�

Student B: �PoliSci�

Student A: �Pre-Med�

Me (to Student B): �You must have slept through your government class then.�

Student B: �Huh?�

Me: �The President doesn�t have that power. It takes an act of Congress to reinstate the draft. Both houses.�

I went on to �educate� these two college students about the draft, letting them know that the last 6 times the draft was enacted was under a Democrat President and congress, the last one being Jimmy Carter back in 1980 - one of two reinstated during peacetime! The draft was last ended under Richard Nixon. For the past three years the military has been meeting or exceeding all personnel goals. That, and the military doesn�t want the draft because it lowers the intellectual and motivational standards of their recruits. And, the only person that is currently beating the drum about reinstating the draft is John Rangel � the DEMOCRAT senator from New York!

I also mentioned that folks soliciting voter registrations were supposed to be non-partisan and that I�d heard them urging people to register as Democrats and vote for Kerry and defeat Bush � a clear violation of registration laws (thank you, Lindsey, for the heads up on that one!).

So, as the debates begin, methinks the only draft we will hear about is the smoke the DNC / Kerry Campaign is blowing up the asses of our 18 to 24 yr old youth.

Thank the Gods I was required to take civics in my last year of high school!

3:56 p.m. - 2004-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble