pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crawfish and Cajun Cooking

Hi folks. I couldn't get into this site the other day, so I simply posted on LiveJournal instead... Here is the text:

Crawfish and Cajun Cooking

Hello all!

Well, Kat and I survived the trip down to Hammond, LA - taking a bit more time than expected, but we had to stop in Atlanta because we needed to visit our bank and that was the last place available before heading into that desolate part of the country known as "the deep south." We are currently in Hammond, LA and have survived the first weekend of the fair. Unfortunately it was the "two-for-one" weekend so we got all the flea-market types and maybe made a total of $100 for the entire weekend. Lots of lookie-loo's here, but the cast (them actor types) are very friendly and do interact with the merchants. We are located near the entrance and right across from the "royal court" so we get to talk to the "King and Queen" quite a bit. At the last half-hour of faire, they get all the roaming musicians (Craig of Farrington, Vincent on hammer dulcimer, et al) together and the royal court, the street actors and many merchants do a "group sing" while some of the actresses and actors dance a wee bit! It's lots of fun, but Kat is concerned because it DOES happen directly in front of our booth. Ah yes, the year. It's supposed to be 1603 and we have King James, the Scot and Queen Ann. Methinks they have their timelines a bit mixed, but what fair is accurate, eh? *laughs* We have Elizabethan entertainment at a Tudor fair in MDRF, no?

As I said, the actors are quite affable and we have a wonderful time with them. They are very enthralled with our dragons, so we should have some sales once they get paid. Ran into Jen Marrus and her beau, Jay. They are still both the lovable and whacky duo. Marrus cracks me up with her attitude. Hopefully, we shall come visit them down in New Orleans in the next couple weeks. In the meantime, we've found a wonderful and inexpensive Chinese Buffet that we need to spread the word about here at fest. We've also had some "down home southern cooking" that I've not really been impressed with. Hammond is a bit of a podunk town, but we still haven't seen ALL of it yet. Can't be too bad... they have a "Kirin Sushi Bar" on the main drag. Will visit some of the nightlife later.

Chris, the Renaissance Man, is also down here and was overjoyed to see some folks he knew from MDRF. He wishes all of you a "good day" and hopes you are all recovering. He's not had the best weekend here either.

Let's see, who else is here... Nixi from Midsummer Knight's Dream is vending in no-man's-land on the other side of the lake. There are a few other vendors and folks that we know from other fair's that are vending here, so it's been nice and friendly.

Had the most adorable 10 yr old young lady come into the booth. She is one of a set of quintuplets and, bless her, is blind - erm... "visually impaired" to all you PC types. This young dear, though, has a wonderful attitude and delighted in "feeling" all the dragons and talking to me at length about the movies she's "seen" via a program for the blind - something I used to read for back about 10 years ago. She is imaginative, intelligent and bubbly. I've told her parents that she is welcome in our booth any day. Her brothers and sisters are also all "special," but she captured my heart with her squeals of delight over our dragons. I gave her a little bear pin and she gushed her gratefulness to me... as did her mom. God, I love little children! Kat has patience for babies... I prefer them to be an age where I can interact with them.

Gave Dionne, our Queen Ann, a "chest hare" and she was vastly amused... enough so that she "beknighted" me... I'm now "Sir Jack, the Dragon Seller" to all in the realm.

*chuckles* I've also managed to befriend our Fair's massage therapist... gave her "the best massage" she's ever had. Something tells me I should get back into that line of work.

Well, since I was on the road from Election Day until now, I've not been able to be (as Kat tends to put it) my "smug and superior" self *rolls eyes*...

To all my friends on the left: Huzzah! Bush won! In a RECORD VOTER TURNOUT (liberals usually win when this happens), Republicans are in control. Get over it and get on with your lives, please. (Even Kat is getting tired of the press boo-hooing over the fact that they couldn't lie, cheat and steal the election in favor of Kerry, despite all their vile, malicious, lewd and vain attempts)

Anyway, I have to check on a few things.

Miss you all... and WinterShadows... write me! Your journal entries are beginning to alarm me a bit...

3:11 p.m. - 2004-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble