pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2nd Week at LARF

OK, so here I sit in the "Tangiapoah (sp?) Parish Library" in Hammond, Louisiana and I find that their computers are Gateway 2000 with pentium II processors (786 machines operating on maybe 433 mhz speed) which means they are slower than all hell, have no virus or popup protection and I can't read half the diaries anymore because of the graphics, which are too much for these moldy old computers to handle. *frustrated sigh*

This last weekend was a tad bit better sales-wise. We're developing some collectors here. Unfortunately, there is a headcold crud running through the faire and I've got it, so I feel quite crappy. Doesn't help that we are camping and it's damned cold most nights.

The really nice thing about this faire is how friendly everyone is, especially the management, cast, security and merchants. Everyone interacts nicely and it's actually fun, even if it's not exactly profitable yet. And best of all, they hold weekly meetings to answer questions and ask for input!!! How many renfaires do that? Granted, this faire is only 5 years old, but I think it's a great idea!

We will be having "School Days" starting tomorrow, running from 9 am to 2 pm where they bus in the high school students, then middle school then grade school kids, most of which will have little or no money, slightly less interest in what's going on around them (other than the fact that they get a day off from school) and worse, they will probably have light fingers. We won't be putting out much stock, but have purchased some baubles that they will be able to afford and hope that we can make some money for our efforts.

As you can tell, Kat and I have not had good luck with these sorts of days in the past. While I hope it will be fun, I'm expecting that it will be no different from what we've seen before.

My muse seems to have left me. I've been trying to write for several days now. The three or four poems I've written have been crappy, the nine or ten stories I've either begun or tried to get back into have fallen flat. The novels I've been trying to get finished are just not moving forward. What makes it worse is that I can't send it out to any of you right now and ask for help and/or input because the library won't permit it. I'll just have to suffer through the next five weeks and then hope that, when we get to the apartment, I can establish some sort of internet connection and/or just send anyone interested a copy of what I have and ask for your suggestions.

Ah... my last complaint? No cellular signal at the faire site... well, there IS a signal - sketchy as it is - but only at night and only if I go atop the rampart at the entrance to the faire and stand in one particular spot. *sighs* And it's too cold to be in that spot for long!

Well, I'm really not sure what to put in here now. Mainly what we've been doing is going shopping, getting email here at the library, reading, making accessories for the dragons (I've "perfected" a boudhran (Irish drum) for the dragons and I'm selling them as fast as I make them) and doing reading. We've met some really fabulous folks, but talking about them would probably mean little or nothing to any of you. Perhaps I'll ramble about them later.

Until then, I shall bid you all adieu. I miss all my friends from CEA, wherever you've dispersed to now and I miss all my IM friends as well. Send me emails if you can and I'll respond.

12:46 p.m. - 2004-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble