pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BRRRRR!

BRRRRR!!!

Well, I'm back where it's cold, where I again have to walk a half mile for a shower and three blocks to pooh and pee. *shivers* I sooooo enjoyed the hotel room where I stayed in Las Vegas!

My son is now happily married and huzzah for him. I got to visit with my friend, Da Fatman, and it was as if there hadn't been a 14 year gap between now and the last time we saw one another.

Vegas is pretty in a splishy-splashy kind of way, but I'm just not enthralled by all the noise of those one-armed bandits. If I'm gonna have fun with a quarter, nickle, penny or dollar, it will be on a pinball machine where the joy lasts for more than a few seconds. But it was nice to walk around a bit, even if it was colder than Hades after the Cubs win the World Series.

The flight back to Hammond, LA left Vegas at 11:45 pm and the Fatman got me there on time after we had a lovely dinner and he and his blushing bride tried to get me hooked into the TV program, "Lost." Not my cuppa tea, but everyone has their tastes. Three hour and 25 minute flight to Cleveland. Yes, I said "Cleveland." It saved me $100 to take a one-stop flight. Two stops would have taken me to either NJ or Boston. Go figure.

Next was the flight from Cleveland to New Orleans. Arrived in Cleveland at 6 am and went to Burger King for a cup of scalding, poorly-made coffee and then waited around, typing on the lovely old laptop that I got from Gumby. It makes a great electronic typewriter and has kept me from going stir-crazy during this run. Up for 27 hours by the time we got back to the campsite and I crashed for the next 21 on and off. (Damn it, it was cold! Who wants to walk around and freeze at 3 am, even if they ARE wide awake?? It was 36 degrees outside - I went into the car and checked!)

Anyway, got another chapter of one of my books done and started on some short stories. Eventually, I'll be getting back into the writers group thing and will have lots of original stuff to present to them instead of recycling all the old stuff for their critiques. I'm really looking forward to the one that meets in Ft. Lauderdale as they were the closest to my old group in the way that they critique as well as the quality of the writers. *sighs*

I signed up for a group that meets in Raleigh, but I don't know when I'll be able to attend their meetings as I will need to get the apartment set up when we get back and then will probably head back to Indiana for Christmas - IF we make enough money the next two weekends - and it's not looking too good.

So, now I'm back in the swamp. Saturday is supposed to be chilly but without the wet stuff until evening... and it's supposed to rain all day Sunday. BAH! Monday? In the 80's, of course! *grumbles*

Well, I'm outta here. Miss everyone. Wish I'd been at DreamTigress for Turkey Day, but had a wonderful time stuffing myself with turkey at the brunches with my son and new daughter-in-law. All in all, it was worth it!

2:41 p.m. - 2004-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble