pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scary Place

THE SCARY PLACE AT MOM�S HOUSE

What is it about mothers when they grow old? They do strange things like beginning to collect string, watch Matlock rerun�s for the 4,739th time and never, EVER throw anything away.

My mom�s house has a scary place that I have to clean out each time I go there. Well, not just one... There are several scary places that need cleaning - but that will have to wait for her demise before we get to them. THE scary place is in the kitchen, though. It�s called the refrigerator.

Mom eats like a bird now that she�s 83. Two bites from a sandwich, a nibble on some fries or a half-eaten chicken wing and she�s �full�... The rest goes into that black hole called the refrigerator. The trouble is, she doesn't like to eat "leftovers."

I swear, every time I come home, I have to go through the ice box and just start chucking stuff. Things like a small remainder of bagged salad that is now a chocolate-brown mush, a 9 month old stalk of celery that looks like the remains of a ghoulish arm and a roast beef sandwich with enough mold on it to have developed feet.

�Oh, don�t throw that away! I was going to eat it!�

No, you weren�t, mom.

�Why�d you throw the bread/coffee cake/donuts away?�

They were turning green, mom.

�There�s a steak in the freezer for you if you want it.�

It was dated from July of this year... I bought it for her when I took her grocery shopping then. She managed to put a hole in the plastic wrap before putting it into the freezer. $7 worth of filet mignon goes into the trash.


My brother and I don�t try and fight her. We simply clean out her fridge every time we�re home

2:52 p.m. - 2005-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble