pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIGGING THROUGH THE CLOSET FOR MY OLD RED STAR PIN

DIGGING THROUGH THE CLOSET FOR MY OLD RED STAR PIN

I was all excited about an actual book fair being held somewhere near here and I really didn't read between the lines, but I knew when I discovered I was driving through the campus of UNC that this fair might lean a little to the left...

*Goes over to the mantle, dusts off his pictures of Marx, Lenin and Stalin, then puts the Moscow Symphony Orchestra's version of "The Internationale" on the turntable*

Yes, there was a little bit of a political leaning to the left... so far to the left that it had a definite bent to it. So far to the left that even my favorite lefty, jellyrose, would be considered a right winger. I mean, it was held at a bookstore called "The Internationalist" (place appropriate fist in the air and shout out "Right arm! Power to the freebles! Workers of the world; Untie! - OK, so I'm a dyslexic lefty)

The keynote speaker was some whacko conspiracy theorist that wanted to go on and on about the torture chambers that we have over in Iraq based on some "declassified materials" from the military that he had "found" by writing to them under the Freedom of Information Act (I don't think so, bubbah... we still haven't declassified a lot of stuff from Vietnam!) Then he claimed that the TV show, "24" has become a propaganda arm for the Bush Administration because it was showing that Jack Bauer was OK to use some "harsh interrogation techniques" (read "torture") and that it was "acceptable." I decided at that point to leave the lecture (I WENT to learn about self-publishing, damn it!). I could have stayed and debated him but 1.) I was the only one in the room to the right of center and 2.) arguing with him would only have given his outer space theories creedence and I wasn't going to give him that satisfaction.

Wandering around, I had expected to hand out my CD book, "Beheading The Muse" to prospective editors and publishers. But I took a good look at the books and magazines on the tables. If I wasn't either writing the new Anarchists Cookbook, admitting that my male chauvanism made me a weinie or writing dirty stories about all my gay friends that turned them into superheroes who reveal that all straight, middle-class bourgeosie types were dirt, then I probably wasn't going to get any traction here.

I did hook up with one publisher who had, of course, the most tame material on his table. Talked with Mr. M. Scott Douglass for almost an hour and he gave me a lot to think about. I think he was also the only real, legitimate publisher there. You can check his website out at MainStreetRag

All hail (Groucho) Marx and (John) Lenin... er... Lennon.

I'm off to the VFW to clear the gunk outta my brain with a little suds.

5:02 p.m. - 2005-05-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble