pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT

Must be something in the air. I'm not really in the mood to post and I'm grumpy and so, it seems to me, is just about everyone else I know.

I know WHY I'm bitchy though. Writers block has broken. I'm working on three things at once and trying like hell to get them out from inside my brain before they all disappear. The writers group I started has been a laxitive for my stopped up brain.

But what that also means is that I pay little attention to things and people around me. This tends to get others aggravated with me because I don't do chores, I am spacey and easily distracted unless I'm in a "zone." I also get irritated quickly and become rudely terse, even though I don't mean to be.

Right now I feel like leaving where I'm living so that I don't have to put up with the tension I've created... but I'm not sure where I'd go. If there is one thing I learned this weekend it's just how few good friends I really have in this area (zero) that I can hang out with.

To amplify things, I lost my voice this morning and I'm really getting tired of the meds knocking me out so thoroughly that I can't seem to get up in the morning (yet, if I DON'T take them, I can't get to sleep!). I was supposed to drive Kat to and from the License bureau, but I couldn't drag myself out of bed. It's like being totally drugged... a feeling I don't like.

By 10:30, I began to get my voice back, so I went to work. I'm sounding a bit "croakish" and I'm not feeling my best (forgot to take the aspirin to work with me AGAIN!) but I'll get through the day.

I'm working for a company that is doing the pre-screening for a drug trial. I do the pre-screening on the phone, so I'm pretty much talking all day.

It's a good job, though, because there are lulls where I can work on my stories. Right now, my hot story is this vampire thing I've been in the mood to write. I've also been working on the Mike Magee things late at night, but then I get too tired to keep going, even though things are flowing. Last night was a good example.

I came up with a thought for the area that's been holding up the connection of the beginning to the end. I began to write it and typed from around 11:30 when Kat wished me goodnight to almost 1:30. Yes, two hours is a long time, but it means I typed only about 6 pages... yes, it takes THAT long to write a book! And this wasn't stop and start spurt writing, this was almost continuous, single-spaced writing. About 4000 words or 20,000 characters... meaning my fingers were typing quite fast. Couple that with the stuff I do at work and I've been writing close to 12,000 words per day... or 60,000 finger strokes. My hands are tired. And we aren't EVEN talking about my chatting on IM and the stuff I put in journals!

When I went to bed last night, my hands were shaking and, even though I'd taken the meds, I tossed and turned a bit. I had the "movie" of the book playing in my head like I used to in the old days. I was vibrating with need to get it down... which I can't do if folks are hovering about but I also can't do if I'm totally alone. I know... I know... I'm odd.

I also think that part of the reason my writers block is removed was all the reading I did over the weekend AND watching one of the most excellent TV shows ever done: Firefly. Why Fox was so stupid as to take it off the air is beyond me. Then again, they took Family Guy off the air too.

If you ever get to watch the Firefly DVD, do it! Or watch it on cable. I am absolutely in lust with Jewel Staite.

Anyway, if y'all are wondering why I'm a grumpy dufus, this has been why.

4:03 p.m. - 2005-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble