pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walkies

My every-other-day walks down the hiking/biking trail in this part of town always leave me breathless with the amount of wildlife still lingering in a City. I've seen an owl with it's catch, creek chubs as they lazily swim, garter snakes as they slither through the underbrush and squirrels performing their circusy high-wire acts. The other day, when I began my walk, I watched as a doe skittered across Gorman St to the safety of the woods on the other side. Two nights before, I'd braked for a red fox clambering rapidly across the roadway in front of me as I drove home. Couple that with the constant flashes of red that zip across my windows as Cardinals look for food in the woods that surround our apartment and I get quite a show here. I knew there was a reason I enjoyed this complex so much!

About the only thing that really makes me sad is the amount of garbage strewn across the side of the roadway. After seeing a runner pulling out a trash bag from his fanny pack and picking up garbage along the hiking trail (not much, thank goodness) I've vowed to do the same for when I walk down Gorman to the entrance of the walk.

2:24 p.m. - 2005-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble