pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Radio

OK, let's see now. I've managed to finish almost 51,000 words for my NaNoWriMo novel. The ending looks like shit because it's only roughed out, but the object is to actually get a rough draft finished, so I succeeded. Yay me!

The bad part was that I worked on it for the final three days from 9 pm to 2 am, then got up at 6:30 to 7 pm to go to work AND I've been coming down with something. I'm running a slight fever, I've a headache, my nose has been dripping and my stomachs been giving me huge problems with indigestion (Bojangles Chicken didn't help, either). I went to bed yesterday at 8 pm because I was falling asleep on the couch (and the cats keep jumping on me... or worse, putting their forepaws on the couch and staring at you until you feel something funny is going on and open your eyes, jumping because his two iridescent green orbs are just inches from your face!

At work this morning as I was flipping through the radio dial, looking for a program I enjoy listening to, I came across a couple funny spots.

It was one of those morning radio zoo programs where they have too many people talking and most of them laughing at unfunny jokes because they're mindlessly stoned. This program today, though, had some funny points. They were talking about a listener that had sent in an email stating that there should be some "children free shopping zones." This led to a humerous discussion of imagining Wal-Mart without hoardes of screaming, crying, tantrum-throwing spawnlings roving the store and about how some parents have absolutely no control over their kids (I always love the parents that say "STOP that!" ineffectively while little Johnny proceeds to turn a display into garbage). I mean, JESUS lady! That kid obviously has his brain in his ass and needs it wacked back up to where it belongs!

Eventually, the discussion degenerated into thinking of other "X Free" zones... so another listener emailed in a suggestion that "those without jobs stay off the highways between 11 am and 2 pm so that working people could actually get things done during their lunch hour."

Well, I thought the whole concept of the arrogance of some folks to be really funny!

Another program had an older guy going on about how certain words have lost their meaning over the years. Back when I was a kid, there were words like "ElectroLux" for a top-of-the-line electronic gadget and women wore "Brassiere" and that's become a "bra" now. "Wall-to-wall" actually meant something! It meant you could afford to cover up those cold, hardwood floors with carpeting all throughout the house! Now, nobody carpets and everyone wants "wall-to-wall" hardwood floors. Kids used to be fed something called "Castor Oil" when they were sick. Nobody suffers from "Lumbago" anymore (probably because of all the Castor Oil they drank as kids!)

He also felt that giving someone booze for Christmas, a day of peace, was just wrong. However, since his birthday was two days after Christmas, you were welcome to give him the booze then!

And lastly, back when I was a kid, there weren't any radio networks catering specifically to people over the age of 50. In fact, to this day, they will deny that any such networks exist! [Then there was a pause and he said:] "Oh wait, one does! It's called NPR!"

Well... I thought it was funny... and I'm over 50!

8:37 p.m. - 2005-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble