pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Literary Rant


WARNING: A MAJOR RANT BREWS! (but it's a literary rant, not political)

I have belonged to a number of supposed "writers communites" of all sorts of genre's on LiveJournal. Unfortunately, I've had to leave most of them as well.

Why? Because 99% of the "stories" I was reading weren't stories at all. They were either detailed outlines of what a story should be or they were essays - the kinds of essays telling me every little bit that happened in excrutiatingly dreary detail (with every sentence beginning with "I" "You" "Me" "He" "She") and still, somehow, managed to exclude any plot dynamics, descriptions of ANY sort that might involve the five senses, or any inkling of dialogue (that's a big college term meaning "spoken word" or "conversations" for all the writing "talent" at LJ) between any of the characters involved (as well as a distinct lack of any rudementary grammatical ability or knowledge thereof!). In other words, they are folks that either blatantly ignored that one, sacred never-to-be-violated precept that you had pounded into your stubborn, thick-headed skull in Lit 101 until you were senseless (or you slept through it): SHOW, don't TELL!!!!!

The alleged "writers communities" on LiveJournal are nothing more than "feel good" zones for inept word-butchers (displaying egos that have exponentially exceed their talents) who want nothing more than for all their friends to say "Hey wow, LOVED your story! You write soooo well! Can't wait for the next installment!"

In two years of belonging to these LiveJournal communities, I can count on one hand how many times I actually received any constructive criticism... I can also count on one hand how many times my attempts at constructive criticism were well-received instead of flamed.

And, when a few folks said, "Well, what the fuck would YOU do?" I have to rewrite their damned story to show them what they were SUPPOSED to do as a writer (and then have them get pissed because I claimed copyright!)

I know... what did I expect online? The internet is the slackers global haven for mediocrity and the lowing, reality-show-addicted masses that wouldn't know true creative writing, even if it were pounded back into their brains once again by an army of ruler-wielding penguins like that of Sister Mary Stigmata in "The Blues Brothers"!

Thankfully, I've managed to find friends here on my LJ and Diaryland list (and some who are friends in real life) that are willing to read stories that I send them and then critique me and the ideas I put forth when I deign to show some of my talent. To all of you; thank you all for telling me when I "done good" as well as when I'm full of shit. I love you people!

But, as for the untalented members of LiveJournals writing communities, I've washed my hands of you! I've deleted you! Y'all can kiss your own bloody arses in circles until you've located the center of your "creativity!"

GRRRRR! GGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRR! *pant pant*

9:02 p.m. - 2006-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble