pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get A Load Of This

OK. Time to mention some things. I got a gift card from my brother at Christmas. He knows I live at Borders, so...

I pondered endlessly about what I "really" wanted. Was it more acid trance/dance/techno CD's to write by? Couldn't decide on what I wanted there. OK, do I go retro and buy some oldies but moldies? Couldn't decide on what I wanted there. OK, how about some folk/bluegrass? MMMMMM... Emmylou Harris' "Elite Hotel" was the only thing I could find that I kinda wanted...

But wait!

Lurking over there with all the Manga, Comic Book Retrospectives and earstwhile "items I wasted lots of money on in my youth" there lurked a tome that I craved.

"The R. Crumb Handbook."

Now, grant you, I really didn't care about the book all that much. What I really wanted was the CD that came with it.

Any old hippy knows who R. Crumb is: The inventor of the "Underground Comix", "Mr. Natural" and the phrase, "Keep On Truckin'!" What a lot of people DON'T know was that, back in 1974, when FM was still "underground", a station in Chicago called "WXRT" used to play this odd little song by R. Crumb and "The Cheap Suit Serenaders"

R. Crumb is very into the old bluesy-jazzy records from the 1920's. You know, the music that usually accompanied the first Mickey Mouse cartoons and such. In fact, he probably has the most extensive collection of old 78 rpm records of this music in the world.

And this CD has a song that I searched in vain for in the 18 months when I broke down, downloaded WinMX and began downloading all sorts of old stuff (mainly old time radio programs for listening on the long drives between renaissance fairs).

The song? "Get A Load Of This"

Lyrics:

My girlfriend�s over, but I sent her away
Cuz she almost knocked the supper off my TV tray

Bring a load of
RC Cola
TV Dinner
A plate of Twinkies
And a Texas Bean Burrito,
For to keep me clean!

TV dinner is the meal that I�m lovin
Pick off the foil, 30 minutes in the oven

Bring a load of
RC Cola
TV Dinner
A plate of Twinkies
And a Texas Bean Burrito,
For to keep me clean!

Don�t like no carrots, can�t stand no peas
But a pack of Ding Dongs bring me down to my knees

Bring a load of
RC Cola
TV Dinner
A plate of Twinkies
And a Texas Bean Burrito,
For to keep me clean!

Girlfriends sweet, she ain�t like no other
Lets me spend all day in front of that 24 inch color

Bring a load of
RC Cola
TV Dinner
A plate of Twinkies
And a Texas Bean Burrito,
For to keep me clean!

Only one thing makes me jump up and holler
TV breaks down during �Bowling For Dollars�

Get a load of
RC Cola
TV Dinner
A plate of Twinkies
And a Texas Bean Burrito,
For to keep me clean!

Gotta love it! *grins*

I used to sing that song allllll the time when I was walking (truckin'?) down the street. It's a catchy little tune, it is it is! The book was interesting as well! Had some of his old comics as well as some stuff he drew just for the book... It's actually a companion piece to the NPR special documentary that was done on R. Crumb a couple years ago. It's quite an amazing journey. A loser, coke-bottle-glasses kind of wimp becomes one of the most celebrated artists of our age by chronicalling his sexual perversions in comics! Whoodathunkit?

Oh, and I bought the third "Afro-Celt Sound System CD as well because I had a 30% off coupon! *grins*

But, alas, I must admit... today I am a changed man. I had to do it! I had to become respectable! I had to join the ratrace! So yes... I did it... decimated... ruined a prize-winning, two years in the making wonder of nature... I-, I hacked off all 3.75 inches (per side) of handlebar moustache. It had to go! I was running out of moustache wax and getting tired of it constantly straining all the food and drink I consumed!

So yes... I hacked it off. Considered saving it, then went, "NAAAAAAAAAAH!

Trimmed the beard back to a goatee as well... and OH, the GREY!!!

Now I'm going to listen to another of R. Crumbs interesting tunes... "My Girl's Pussy"

(Get your mind out of the gutter! It's about her CAT!)

And Hissy isn't the only one that can say... well, I'll say it in Irish Gaelic: If you don't like my new look, P�g ma thoin!

6:33 p.m. - 2006-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble