pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

St Paddy's Aftermath

20060319

OK, I�ve been gone awhile. Part of it has been due to my working hard on the novels. I want to complete at least two of them by the end of the year. Writing them hasn�t been the problem. Fixing/editing has been� and not fixing/editing the final product, but just the first draft so that I can present it to my writers group.

I was also curious as to whether or not anyone would actually notice that I�d not been adding entries. *nuzzles BETTYFORD's ear and humps her lovely lil bum gently while fondling her cute boobies because SHE noticed I was gone! grins*

Another reason I�ve not been writing is that I�ve been working. Yes, working. At actual jobs.

The first one was to �train� vendors for North Carolina�s pending lottery. I�ve done �public speaking� for around 25 years and I am not the least bit shy in front of a group. But I had a partner that was a tech-bench computer dweeb and he a.) mumbled his presentation to the first two rows, b.) was never a real partner (meaning that he didn�t look out for / support my back on things. Instead, he stabbed me in the back every chance he got and c.) didn�t communicate well, unless it WAS to stab me in the back. Needless to say, I�m not with that job. I hated it anyway. I was going to be traveling for four weeks and living in hotels the whole time� and not in big-cities, either. Snore.

The job I�m working now is in telemarketing, calling business to business customers about coming back to the Big Time Telephone Company (not it�s real name). It�s an interesting job and I feel OK about it because I�m not selling something that�s superfluous or unneeded.

Lastly, I�ve not been on because I�ve found that my music download program works again with the help of a little patch, so I�ve been busy gathering up Old Time Radio Programs for Kat and I to listen to when we are traveling to various festivals and conventions.

One thing that�s been bothering me as of late have been nightmares. I had one about 2 weeks ago and then the past two nights I�ve had some pretty horrid ones � they were bad enough that I didn�t want to wake up until I could solve / resolve the issues in them. The one on Friday night was the worst one I�ve had since I was a child� I dreamt that my son committed suicide. And yes, the dream was as real as it gets! My pillow was wet from my tears and sweat!

St. Paddy�s Day was OK, but I miss the annual event I�ve been going to for the past two years. We were down in Florida for FlaRF and would go to a St Paddy�s Day concert at MaGuires 16 in Ft. Lauderdale and listen to our fave Rennie group; The Minstrels Of Mayhem (ahem!).

This year, Kat and I aren�t down there (because of the hurricanes, the purses have been tight and I�ve heard that this year it�s even worse because the various acts (which aren�t paid, but pass the hat) weren�t even making enough to cover their expenses. But I miss all my friends down there� especially my talented and industrious �wife� � 11 yr old Mimi Cattle. I miss my �in-law�s� as well because Sam is just a good guy and Edie is the �mother-in-law� I wouldn�t mind having an incestuous relationship with! LOL

But we aren�t there. So Kat and I went to Outback Steakhouse. Granted, we got there late (7:30 pm). Granted, there were 5 parties going on. Granted, it was Friday night. But we didn�t get our food until 9:30, and we ordered it at 8: 30! That�s too late to be eating, even for me!

I didn�t do the corned-beef and cabbage thing until Saturday because my writers group was holding a party last night. It was all quite fun. Since I don�t have any real green clothing that I could wear in 40 degree weather, I dressed up in my renaissance costume, complete with a sword and some �horns.� The horns were a big hit and people got a good laugh at my costume (I was also promoting the upcoming North Carolina Renaissance Faire). Lots of Stout, Irish Cream and Irish food was in abundance and we had a grand time telling jokes, playing games and otherwise just having fun. I also taught folks some interesting Irish-Gaelic prhases, such as "Dia duit!" (djah dwitch)meaning "good day"; "T� m� ar meisce" (Tah may meska) or "T� m� �lta" (Tah may oltah) meaning "I'm drunk" and "I'm very drunk" respectively; "Go raibh maith agat" (gura mie ugut) meaning "thank you"; "Slainte" (slawn-che) meaning "Salute" or "To your health" and, lastly, the best phrase to use in a bar; "P�g ma thoin" (poag mah hone) meaning "kiss my ass!" (Yes, I've learned to speak gaelic with an "Ulster" or "Northern" accent, rather than a "Southern" or "Munster" accent. It's ironic, because I grew up in Munster... Indiana, that is!)

I really do like my writers group (well, we constituted about 1/3rd of the people there. The rest were either friends or co-workers of the two ladies that live at the house.)

OK, so you�re pretty much caught up. I�ve had my �morning after� breakfast of fried corned beef and cabbage. I�m now going to dowse my coffee liberally with some Irish Cream and get back to cutting CD�s for folks I promised them to.

Today is also March 19, 2006. Whereas the 17th is the day for the Irish, the 19th is a day of celebration for the other half of my heritage � St. Joseph�s Feast Day� the Patron Saint of Poland. (Wonders if we have any Polish sausage, kraut and pierogi�s)

1:41 p.m. - 2006-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble