pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Labels

I was amused with my friend, Kip, over the week of NCRF. He'd been in a jam with his vehicle during the week and I kept offering to help and not asking for any compensation. I was doing it in the spirit of RESCU (was there a representative for them at the fair over the two weekends?). Because of our talks, he kept insisting that I "couldn't be a conservative" because of my views on gay marriage and large, megacorporations, saying that I'd been "taken in by the propoganda of conservative talk shows." He insists that I am a "fence-sitter" like he is. I smiled because, as intelligent as Kip may be, it's my believe that he's been taken in by liberal media bias conspiracy theorists and self-proclaimed intelligensia such as Michael Moore. And if we are both "fence-sitters," then it's on two completely different fences. Mine has a decidedly conservative bent to it.

You see, most of my conservative friends are very much like me, not the caricatures of foaming-at-the-mouth-religious-fanatic cardboard conservatives that the press likes to portray. Nor do I consider my liberal friends to be the pot-smoking, looking-at-the-world-throug-rose-colored-glasses, censoring-everything-you-say-until-it-comes-out-completely-inoffensive, flower-power-or-die liberals. Many of the folks I'm around (and live with) have expressed conservative views, but I'm not going to insist that they are conservatives because of that fact.

I'm also amused by the two political drama's on TV. Liberals are always portrayed as "moral, decisive and ethical" while conservatives are either portrayed as conniving, ruthless, power-hungry or bumbling. If we look at the past thirty years of politics and the last three Democrat Presidents, I think we'll find that the roles have actually been reversed to fit with that aforementioned liberal bias. The only positive that I see with the show starring Geena Davis is that she actually looks, sounds and acts more like Condi Rice than Hillary Clinton (and Donald Sutherlands character comes directly from archival footage of Ted Kennedy!)

OK, I've mumbled my piece on that. Now I have to wonder when the Jewish population of this country is going to wake up and join the ranks of conservatives when they recognize the Religious Holy War we are currently engaged in and understand that their homeland is endangered by a muslim fundementalist, terrorist theocracy: "Iran Leader: Israel Will Be Annihilated"

2:06 p.m. - 2006-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble