pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ConCarolinas, lies and losses

ConCarolinas, Lies & Losses

I had a wonderful time at ConCarolinas. They have, perhaps, the best con suite I've been in. I was pretty much able to get breakfast, lunch and dinner there if I went up at the proper times.

Kat and I sat next to Tony Amendola, the Guest of Honor, in the dealers room for the whole weekend. If any of you are fans of Stargate SG-1, he plays the alien, "Bra'tac" on that series. He's also been on Angel and several other series as a character actor. He was an absolutely delightful neighbor and had some interesting tales.

And yes, I did get to meet Spider Robinson. I waited until Sunday to get his autograph. As I told him, "there are only 4 authors I ever wanted to get an autograph from, and three of them are dead."

We talked about how science fiction is finally swinging back from the "hard" sci fi where the story was secondary to making sure you plugged in as much science fact as possible. I prefer tales that are character driven.

We also talked about music and shared some primitive jazz that we both liked. I'd been to his concert the night before and, well, he's an OK guitarist and singer, but a much better writer (hopefully that is being very diplomatic). Then he let me sit with him and I had someone take our picture. Unfortuantely, it's a film camera (my digital died a horrid death a couple weeks back) so you won't get shots right away. I got two books signed by him... one for me and one for my ex, because she liked him too.

When we got back home and got to the mail, I got envelopes from two of the three dealers I ordered the remaining 3 "HELLSING" DVD's. I got the fourth DVD, but the other envelope containing the second DVD was open and empty. I'm still waiting for the store I ordered from to respond. (I got the third DVD the following day)

I also got an official letter from a lawyer back in Indiana. The ex has officially filed for divorce and has set the date for a day she knows I'll be back there for my pyrotechnics fix.

Then I go and do something I know I shouldn't do... I went to read my hometown newspaper online. Every time I do that, I always find bad news. This time was no exception.

The woman who I was in love with (and who broke up my marriage), well, her mother passed away. Jane liked me. Liked me better than "Sandra's new guy" as she put it.

Also, in the obit I found out Sandra is engaged to Matt. This was a woman that swore to me she would never get married again. Of course, she also swore that she loved me more than any man on earth, swore that she would break up with me if I ever divorced my wife, swore that she wouldn't let me live with her, swore that she wanted me to live with her and swore that I was the best thing she'd ever had in bed... I guess, from what others have told me since the breakup, that it's only the last thing that's true.

So, I've been listening to Berlin's "No More Words" and The Thompson Twin's "Lies, Lies, Lies" non-stop since I've been back.

Thank the Goddess Dana for Lithobid. It's helping me to keep my emotions in check - something that's both a blessing and a curse (I haven't cried since February of 2002).

All-in-all, I guess I'm doing okay with all of this. But I don't have to like it. I'm numbing my mind to it all by watching my "Neon Genesis EVANGELION" DVD's. Yes, I bought the entire boxed set, so now I have hours worth of trite anime filled with "fan service" to watch and help me numb the pain. Alcohol doesn't do it for me anymore. In fact, the Lithobid sorta negates it.

1:24 p.m. - 2006-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble