pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Goodbyes To MDRF

Here's a health to the Company
And one to my lass
Let us drink and be merry
All out of one glass
Let us drink and be merry
All grief to refrain
Because we may not
And may never
All be here again!

That pretty much sums up my entire weekend at Maryland RenFest. It was and emotionally charged weekend for me, meeting and saying goodbye to so many friends I've made over the years, both casually and closely.

To me, it was akin to shutting garage doors in a large structure as I said "so long" one-by-one until all the doors were closed and the memory was locked up tight.

So many people were there that I've come to love and grow with and I'm not sure when I will get to see them once more; perhaps next year, perhaps not for a very long time. It will depend on my situation.

While there, I went to my first joust and then, my first "pub sing" at MDRF (which is odd because I'm only one lane over from them).

I found it interesting, the differences in pub sings at places like FLaRF, KRF and MDRF.

At FLaRF, "Health To The Company" is sung last by the Minstrels of Mayhem... in an almost reverential manner (our tent, the last time we were there, was just off to the side of the main stage). At MDRF, the Pyrates Royale sing it as one of their opening songs, teasing the "owner" of the White Heart, "Jack Rackham" with the line, "Let us drink and be merry all out of JACK'S GLASS!"

I have fond memories of that song and wandered back and forth around the crowd, trying unsuccessfully to keep from crying as I sang along. It wouldn't do for a bunch of people there who were having fun to see someone breaking down, I'm sure.

The weekend was fabulous, but started out wet. I got there in the early afternoon on Saturday, not hitting the last of Ernesto until I got to the Beltway. Sales were moderate at the booth where I got to greet my wifey, Isabella Ringin, and coo over her new MimiBugs (though I still prefer the simplicity of the older ones... but, if that "firebug" doesn't sell, I want to buy it!)

Found out that I now have a "new" family tree. Gumby is now my "father" while others have become... no, I can't do this... too complicated!� LOL

Sunday was nice, but the crowds were fickle. Everyone, it seems, came to eat, drink and be merry, but not spend on anything at Sleeping Dragon.

Monday picked up as I began to hawk hard, but within the booth this time to avoid the glares from a certain booth next to us. Almost had to wear sunglasses from it on Sunday. *LOL*

I know I'm bouncing around, but Saturday night was wonderful. Went to Shanghai in Annapolis and had a wonderful dinner with all my closest friends and associates. Marie, aka MStarfire bought dinner and we can't thank her enough for all she's done. She's a lovely, lovely lady.

Sunday,Tiger and her Llama, Allen, went with others to "eat lesbians" (Lebanese food) but I hadn't slept well and was too tired and Kat was feeling the effects of too poor a day of sales to feel comfortable in going.

You all know how Monday went.

But I love you all. I can't even begin to mention how everyone affected me so much because I know if I do, I will forget someone.

But, thank you, Kathryn, for introducing me to this wonderful world.

And I thank all of you who have befriended me for all the joy you've brought into my world.

I now head back to Indiana to take care of my mother with two elderly cats and a computer that's crippled (the processor died again and I don't have the cash to fix it right now)

Love you all.

6:30 p.m. - 2006-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble