pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MY HIGH CRUSADE WEEKEND

The great Poul Anderson is one of my favorite science fiction authors. This wonderful Dane has a knack for taking myths and folk tales and turning them into rollickingly good stories that read well. One of these is a book called "The High Crusade."

I was telling Kathryn about it awhile back, informing her it was about an alien space ship that was "scouting" Earth and lands in Medieval England. The space ship is taken over by the Lord of the castle and flies back to the alien world where the English "fight the heathens" and, of course, win. I wondered aloud if they had ever made a movie of it.

Low, and behold, in 1997, someone suckered John Rhys-Davies into doing the movie. About the only thing I can really tell you, without spoiling it, was what the dealer told me: "It's sorta like 'Mars Attacks' meets 'Ivanhoe.'" But he was wrong� It's "Mars Attacks" meets "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" So bad that it's horribly funny.

You. Must. See. It!

I know that Gumby will appreciate the fact that it's special effects were done on a Commodore Amiga 4000!

And, Rick Overton, in his garb, looks soooooo much like my dear friend, Sam!

In other news, after living here for two years, I finally got invited to a party at the complex!

I met Alex, my neighbor, a few months back as she was taking out the trash and I was cussing and swearing as I was working on my car. Now, I'd said hello to her before. She was our apartment's Vespa Girl. She rode a scooter to work (IN THE TRIANGLE) every day. She's cute, redheaded and, of course, I drooled over her from afar. Well, she invited me "and my wife" to come to her place on Saturday for a party. I went� sans "wife" or anything else, of course� and made a resolution not to drink. That lasted all of 15 minutes. This lady and her friends DO love their vodka� and rum!

I eventually learned that 98% of the people there were Red Hat Linux programmers (including Alex) and, the one person besides me that DIDN'T do that was the WIFE of a programmer, a very interesting lady from Croatia by the name of Gordonna.

I was handed, in order, a cup of ice water (as requested), a strawberry daquiri (made with real strawberries), a cup filled with Belvedere Vodka (and a piece of frozen blueberry push-pop), another strawberry daquiri, a pina colada, a daquiri, another pina colada, the last of the daquiri, another shot of Belvedere Vodka (or, as Alex put it, "perhaps the third best vodka in the world!") then another daquiri (not strawberry), the last of the pina colada, another glass of the vodka and finally the last of the daquiri. But� I didn't have HALF the alcohol that the hostess did� *chuckles* She was more than a bit tipsy when I left.

She has very interesting tastes in music� they match mine (she was playing techno-trance by "Peaches") and we were watching a silent film, a Russian SF film from the late 20's or early 30's and commenting on it. I held my own on discussions, going from brokerage and investment banking to anime, to art to kimono's to erotica and kink to philosophy, filmmaking, science fiction, furry conventions, the art of Pyrotechnics, SF conventions, ren faires, Linux vs Apple vs Microsoft to religion and then to politics. It was an eventful evening.

And, I found out that Alex is a bit kinky� and a bit of a Domme. She threatened me with "her whip" at one point if I didn't have another drink. I informed her I could go home and get mine as well!

She's also a graphic artist and has many of her own erotic works on the wall. I complimented her on it, of course. She'd like to know where she could display some of it outside her home.

I'm busy packing boxes now. Too many books� far too many books� *shakes head*

So, that was my weekend. Hope you are all enjoying yours!

1:08 p.m. - 2006-09-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble