pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, the living room is clean, at least

My son turned 25 on Friday, the 13th. We had a small, but fun party for him at his house... old friends and bookends kind of thing.

Sarah, my daughter-in-law, has been having sciatic problems from the pregnancy and had to be out of work for a week. That's hurting them, financially. I don't have the money to help them out... or even buy a decent prezzie for his birthday, so I ended up giving him one of my Dave Badger prints, which he, thankfully, liked.

The cats have stopped being "vomit comets" for the day. Of course, they sleep all day and then prowl all night, crawling over me several times in the evening, waking me up.

I spent 6 hours cleaning mom's living room today. I don't think that the room's been thoroughly cleaned (minus my washing the walls) for at least a year.

When I moved furniture, the dust bunnies were in attack mode a la Monty Python and the Holy Grail. I beat them though; tossed in a hand grenade and then went after them with the new Hoover. *evil grins*

Then had to do some shopping, followed by cooking dinner, rewashing the dishes Mom "washed" for me (can you still feel the grease from the washing in tepid water?). I don't have any dressers or clothing storage here (all the furniture is filled with Mom's junk... no other word for it! Closets filled with clothes she no longer wears - or can fit into - but she won't let me throw any of it away!) so I had to go out and buy plastic storage bins

Mom and I watched TV for an hour together as we ate... she didn't understand what it was she was watching so she went back to Matlock. I think she has the scripts on that one memorized, so she really doesn't need to hear them.

Hey, I mean, I came upstairs the other day and found mom sitting there watching a silent TV. No sound on. She looked at me as I stared at her. "What?" she asked, "Is it up too loud?"

The next day, she spent an hour watching "Sabado Gigante." She asked me what game show it was because she didn't recognize anyone. Unfortunately, the neighbors now think she speaks Spanish. That's how loud the TV was THAT night.

Actually, I am here because I love Mom for all the sacrifices she made for me. She raised me for 18 years and never complained (well, not much). The least I can do is put up with this. The trouble is, she CAN'T hear and when I have to repeat myself 7 times to be understood and have to YELL most of the time, it makes me angry. I just don't know who I'm angrier with, her or me.

I'm still searching for employment. This should be the season of "instant" jobs, but so far, none have materialized. *sighs*

The radio stations here in Chicago officially suck now. Seven... count them, SEVEN "Mix" or "oldies" stations all playing the same bland stuff over and over. Raleigh was interesting in that it had three major Uni's there (NC State, UNC and Duke) so there were some cool college stations to keep me young and hip, at least. Oh, and I filled up my tank for $1.98 a gallon... trouble was, it was snowing at the time (Thursday)

And, Wenchy, *grins* if you want details, you should give me a call!

10:45 p.m. - 2006-10-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble