pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MW's Last Hurrah

What a weekend...

Friday, I was supposed to go out for pizza and beer with my former next-door-neighbor, Mike. When I came home, my mom called me.

"Mike was killed in a car accident this morning."

Devastation. He was a cool guy, though a little on the dorky side. But you could count on him to help you out - especially where it came to cars.

He moved next door when he was 14 and was like a fourth son to my father. He still has tools and car parts in my mom's garage. My own brother Mike (the live one) drove up from Dallas, TX to attend the wake and funeral. Yes, we were that close to their family.

OK... so now I lose another friend. What else could go wrong? How about the cats craping and puking on TOP of my bed? Gathered up bedclothes and washed them.

How about that I get some disturbing information concerning this lady online that I'm developing a relationship with which turns into major weekend drama?

How about she still doesn't give me even half her trust? *sighs* We are taking a weeks break from each other to sort out our thoughts.

The highlight of my weekend was shooting a 21 gun salute for Veterans Day (thank you to all those posting blogs about this) and then going to my son's house and helping them put together the baby's room... as we wait for Katelyn JoAnn to be born.

Post Script: I hate wakes - hate funerals even more. Especially for 36 yr old friends. He'd evidently had a tiff with his girlfriend when he went to see her after he got off work. He drove his pickup too fast on too winding a road when it was slick from mist. Rolled it 4 times. No, he wasn't wearing a seatbelt... otherwise he might be in ICU instead of 6 ft under.

11:16 a.m. - 2006-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble