pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

skrrrreeEEEEEEeeerrrrrrRRREEEERRRrrrrrrRREEEEE!!!


I've been meaning to write this blog for two weeks now...

The cicada's are out in force where I work. Not so much where I live, but where I work, definintely! Or should I say, deafeningly!

They are EVERYWHERE in the trees where my office building is. Hell, I park under the trees for shade and my car window is covered with cicada poo by the end of the day! I almost have to plug my ears from the noise when I reach the car!

There is a wave of noise in the distance from all the surrounding trees like the thunderous constant ringing of jingle bells... as if hundreds and hundreds of them were being shaken. Then, close up, it's like a bunch of people with those New Years party noisemakers - the rectangular boxes that you spin around and a ratchet clicks against a gear.

A few of these boogers have hitched a ride on my hour-plus commute home - as I've either opened the door to just get IN the car or when I stopped for gasoline. The first one rode with me all the way to Indiana, then zoomed out of the car in the parking lot of a shopping mall only to get snatched right out of the air by a seagull. The second got tossed out of the car at a toll booth.

They are noisy, ugly little buggers, I'll tell ya! And the first two weeks they were hatching, everyone on the radio and TV seemed to have some sort of "recipe" for eating them!

I think I'll leave that to the birds and lizards, thank you!

Spent Father's Day with the Rookie Dad of my family (i.e., my son) and took them all out for Mexican Food at El Salto (yeah, the chain has made it out here... and it ain't half bad!)  My granddaughter is a bubbly, happy, good little baby of 7 months now.  She loves the attention everyone gives her (she was at my cousin, Tim's (the guy I shoot fireworks with) house for his 50th birthday party and pretty much what's left of the elders of the family had fun with her, seeing how she is the latest addition to the family.  I'll eventually figure out how to post pictures of her here.

Katie looks like... well, she looks like a baby! I've seen my baby pictures, my son's and my daughter-in-laws and she looks like all of us! We'll have to see what happens as she gets older.

Sarah, my D-I-L, can't figure out what's going on with her metabolism, though. She LOST 50 lbs while pregnant (she's not a small girl) and has since gained it all back after having the baby! She goes to the doctor just as soon as her health insurance with BP kicks in next month to see if there is something that can be done.

Son and D-I-L also have found a nice house at a very affordable price in Merrillville and (hopefully) will close on it by the end of the month. If my job holds out, I may be buying a small house or condo by the end of the year as well.

I went to Shibaricon over Memorial Day weekend and found it to be quite instructive, entertaining and... oddly enough... spiritual!

It's a small kink convention of Japanese Rope Bondage enthusiasts and, well, it definitely wasn't anything like Fantasm (only 450 con-goers) but the folks were friendly and well-mannered... more than I can say for the "International Dart Tournament" people that dominated the hotel.  They tried to crash the con twice and four were arrested - two Aussies, one Russian and one Dane. For some reason, they didn't understand that a.) you don't touch someone (grope, actually) that doesn't wish to be touched, no matter that they may be in a micro-mini and wearing fishnet stockings, goth makeup and a leather corset - no, you may NOT use the excuse that you were "drunk" and; b.) you didn't pay for entry and trying to sneak in with con-goers that are NOT wearing a "BULLSHOTS International Dart Tournament" tee to find out "what these bondage geeks are all about" is likely to get you hustled out of there by people that know how to hurt your throwing arm and cause you to lose your standings in the tournament.

I met an artist friend there named Nigel Sade. He was looking very pirate-like and I bought a print from him that I liked, along with a shrunken head and a pirate bandana with his logo on it. You can find him and his works at www.nigelsade.com. I bought the print named "As You Wish." He also has a blog on MySpace which is quite humorous!

8:43 p.m. - 2007-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble