pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memorial Day

I hope everyone thanked a Vet today for their freedom to do silly things like blog freely and chat on the internet!

It's amazing how good fortune and bad karma come in clumps.

I've been trying to rent out two rooms now for the past 8 weeks. I've had lots of responses from Craigslist from folks out of town, students here on visa's from foreign countries that couldn't tell me how they would pay for the rent, etc. I'm not asking much... $550 per room which includes utilities. I've also had my share of people making appointments to come see it and then I wait for hours and they don't show. When I call them, they go, "Oh, we found and apartment for about the same... " Yeah, bucko... but in what part of town? I'll laugh my ass off when your car is stolen and your place is broken into. Don't have that problem here.

So, now I possibly have some renters. They're coming by later tonight. I also got a response from a company that I sent my resume to out in NJ and they want me to resend it to that office. I'm going out there on the 19th, but I may have to change my reservation to make it the night before so that I can interview on Friday. We'll see how that goes as well. Gotta call them tomorrow and iron things out.

But, with my working on getting renters in here, my brothers are off my back (otherwise I'd have been moving this weekend).. Instead, I'm smoking a garlic-rosemary-sage stuffed pork tenderloin, some honey-teryaki chicken and a beef brisket. Yummo! Food for the week!

I've asked my brothers over and over if there is anything here that they want. They just mention one or two items. I found my dad's old concertina... what he used to call his "Squeezebox." I went to Chicago Irish Fest this weekend and found a book on how to play it, so now I'm practicing a little. I might actually get good at it by the time I'm 70! LOL

Irish Fest was a bit of a disappointment. I guess all of the traditional stuff was during the day... things like Ullian pipes, storytellers and such. Tommy Makem's sons were there with the Spain Brothers, but it was like listenting to the Oak Ridge Boys on a religious kick. You'd think that the sons of someone who sang about funding the IRA would have a little more spunk in their show. Sadly, it wasn't the case. And whoever set up the sound for them and the Bridies should be shot. Drums were too loud, couldn't hear most of the instruments and the vocals were fuzzy.

The neatest thing they had there was a guy explaining an "Irish Wake." I didn't know that you didn't serve both Bushmills and Jamesons at a wake. Turns out Jamesons is in a green bottle for a reason... it's fer th' Cath-a-licks. Bushmills is in a clear bottle so that the "orange" shows through fer them proddy-stants. Where's the white come in? Well, if'n you were a might poor and couldn't afford the "branded whiskey" you'd serve a little poteen (pooCHEEN) or "white lightening" from down the road. LOL

Also learned about why the corpse lies on a door, how to get them out of the house, what the pennies on the eyes were for and why the Bible was put up under the chin. Oh, and there was how you went to the cemetary and came home.

The cats have been antsy. They've seen me cleaning and moving boxes downstairs and I think they think I"m moving. LOL. Maybe I will be! But Zeke will be coming with. Not sure about the vomit comet... erm... my Mom's cat, "Sugar" She just doesn't get along with anyone else but me now. Will have to find a nice little old lady for her.

Sushi, the dog, will be coming as well. She's still up in Wisconsin at Talli's house.

That's about all that's happening with me that any of you would care to hear.

7:02 p.m. - 2009-05-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble