pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DRESSING DOWN THE ONES THAT DON�T DRESS UP

DRESSING DOWN THE ONES THAT DON�T DRESS UP

Take a look at pictures from the 1930�s to the 1960�s. What do you notice about them? I mean pictures of city streets, people in airplanes or on trains, going to church or to the movies? Especially the guys.

Notice anything?

Look harder�

Yep, that�s it.

Hats, suits and ties.

Rich or poor, working or unemployed, every guy wore them - in fact, you wouldn't be caught dead out in public without wearing a hat, suit and tie! Women were in dresses too. People dressed nice to just go out. Look around today and what do you see? People in jeans and tee-shirts or worse, people in *gag* jogging suits or sweats. No one �dresses up� these days. No one makes �going out� a special occasion anymore. Hell, they even show up to weddings, funerals and church in their �everyday� clothing.

When I was a child, I looked forward to Easter because it meant I got a new suit. Yes, I had the suits with the short pants until I was about 6 or 7, but I looked sharp. That then became my �Sunday best.� I wore it to church and for any other special occasion. My family wasn�t wealthy by any means. There were times when my dad actually worked 3 jobs just to make ends meet� but we all dressed nice on Sundays and for special occasions.

Now, everyone dresses like a slob. For the most part, no one takes pride in how they present themselves, unless they are a lawyer, stockbroker or looking for a job. Even then it can be �iffy.�

I got strange looks, the other day, when I stopped at a department store and told them I was looking for a lightweight silk summer sports jacket. They kept showing me suits. I didn�t want a suit, just the jacket. You see, I have this odd little quirk in my personality. I like wearing suits and sport jackets � even if the sport jacket is worn with jeans. I sometimes even wear a tie! In the Summer!

Anyhow, I finally found the sport jacket I was looking for, but it was in an upscale department store. I�m sure as hell not going to pay $235 for a jacket I intend to just wear on the street. So I�ll keep looking in thrift stores�

�but if anyone is getting rid of a 43 regular, I�ll take it.

3:50 p.m. - 2004-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble