pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Independence Day Week \"Vacation\"

I'm back. Yes, I have all my hands, toes, fingers and all the other stock and storage that I left with (well, I may have shed a few POUNDS, but otherwise I'm still me).

I promptly got a new haircut, then trimmed my beard down to what Kinky Freidman calls a "white-man hater" and rewaxed my 'stache. I look a little more presentable, if nothing else.

I went to see some old friends first thing. It was their daughter's graduation party. Danyele and I used to talk for hours on ICQ and she'd tell me things about her then-boyfriends that would probably have curled a few hairs on her mom's head (which explains why Chris has such curly hair).

Anyway, they'd implored me to come visit if I could, so I did. Danyele cried when I came out of the car. She hugged me and held me and continued crying for almost five minutes while her mom took pictures, then she cried twice again and hugged me. Made me feel special.

Danyele is a special lady too. She's been fighting all sorts of illnesses for the past couple years. Had "nodes" on her brain that were precursors to MS - Multiple Sclerosis - and had to go in for kemotherapy several times.

Danyele is a wonderfully beautiful young lady (as are WinterShadows and Wenchy) who has gone through a lot. I truly do wish I were 30 years younger so that I could make this beautiful young woman feel more special... but then again, I've already done that. I won't lose track of these folks again!

Then I shot 5 fireworks shows in 6 days. I decided to wear shorts for the first show because I've not done that before. Face it... when I exposed my lilly-white legs, it was an observable event from the space station.

Yes, I put on SPF45... but I missed a "stripe" on my left leg... so now that "stripe" is no longer white... it's a glaring RED... as is my neck (the shirt and sweat wore off the lotion there). So, I went back to my "French Foreign Legion" look by wearing long pants, long sleeved shirts and placing a bandana on the back part of my head while wearing a ball cap. It covered my neck to prevent even more damage.

Then I flew back to Raleigh and promptly got in the car at 8 or 9 am the following morning and headed 400+ miles northward to Philadelphia for Anthrocon.

There's lots more to tell, but I'll do it later tonight when I'm more awake and not at work (we got in at 2:40 last night and I had to be at work this AM)

So, if you're looking for me to wax poetic about "bombs bursting in air" I will do so then. This just lets you know I survived.

1:45 p.m. - 2005-07-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble