pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dribs and drabs

Gads, I'm tired... but at least we got someone to agree to re-roof the booth at the Renaissance Faire.

I don't do well with heights. In fact, I'm damned scared of heights. Folks familiar with me from my childhood will laugh about this because my brother and I used to see who could climb higher in the tree (he usually won - either because he was more fearless about climbing up on a branch 150 feet above the ground that was only 1 inch thick... or because he was less intelligent... or because he weighed less than I did - whatever - He usually won.)

Anyway, I can't stand being up high anymore. I think it began with an inordinant fear of my glasses falling off my face from up high. I don't know why I had that fear either because I was ALWAYS looking down. But it became a fear.

So, I was worthless at the booth as far as the roof was concerned, so I built walls and put in electric... stuff I CAN do. It's looking nicer.

Next weekend, Kat and I were going to head up to PennFaire, but I think we should take a break and rest next weekend. We're going to be doing a lot of commuting here soon - unless we find a place up this way to live.

My ex called me up to wish me a happy birthday today because she will be working tomorrow and won't get to call me then. She sounded cheery enough and didn't say anything to really bring me down. I guess she knows that turning 50 is enough. Thankfully, tonight I'm not quite as bad. We'll see what happens tomorrow.

I really am looking forward to Ren Faire starting. It's fun being around the people, flirting, having fun with folks and listening to the plays and entertainment that goes on at the stage behind our booth. *laughs* We even built new benches and a table in the back of the booth to make it more comfortable to watch it all! Now I have to build in the refrigerator and get a crock pot so that we can cook meals during the day.

I got my faire pass yesterday. I was hot, sweatty, dirty and gave the lady a maniacal look when she took the picture. It's quite funny. I am DEFINITELY getting a haircut though. I can't stand how much it's getting into my eyes. How the hell did I put up with this back in my 20's???? (I think the key word was "hairspray" LOL)

Also, we found out our favorite after-faire chinese/hunan/sushi restaurant is still open. Mr. Wang's Hunan Restaurant in Annapolis serves some of the best oriental/sushi/thai food I've ever had... and the prices are really reasonable. Thank the gods. We'd heard they were closing back in May!

Yesterday, we also went to Maggie Moo's for ice cream... MMMMMMM! Gotta love that place. They serve you ice cream in hand-made cones. But they also will put all sorts of things in the ice cream you pick out... walnuts, sprinkles, M&M's, candy... they put the ice cream onto a cooled slab of marble and then mix the stuff into it right in front of you... sorta like Dairy Queen, but without the mixing machine... and the ice cream is still cold!

Also, before then, we went to a chicken place called "Cheep Cheep Chicken" and listened to the owner give folks advice on how to reconstitute the buffalo wing sauce at home to satisfy her kids. Owners like that are rare. We will be eating there more in the future!

Zali! It's good to see that you do read this! I hope all is going well for you, dude!

The other day when I made that comment about the "Pagan Republicans site, I posted something on there that got a laugh from folks. I wondered why, on all the other pagan sites like WitchesVox (www.witchesvox.com) that all the people have airy-fairy names like "Ravenwood Peckerhead" and such. Reminded me of my childhood, going to Catholic school and how foolish I thought it was that Nuns took the name of their favorite saint. Now, while many of them took on names that sorta fit them (I wanted to say I knew a "Sister Butch" here, but I won't... but Sister Benedict was MEAN - and sorta looked like a guy in drag!)most of them were OK... But taking on a name of someone else with that look of rapture on their faces... *rolls eyes* Anyhow, I get a kick out of people in the pagan community that take on those names as well, as if it gives you more stature or shows more "dedication to the cause." What brought on the rant was the fact that they were trying to organize a "mass convening to produce a spell to vote Bush out of office. I commented that I also knew that casiting negative spells, according to the beliefs of these folks, comes back upon you tenfold. Maybe this ISN'T a bad thing then... LOL

Oh, one other thing about that last political rant. I joined a couple political forums that should have been a singularly wonderful place for me to rant like that. Instead, I now get assinine messages on IM from complete strangers and, well, let's face it, I get hate-mail from stupid people that don't read, don't research and hell, just don't get it! (It's one of the reasons I'm not visible much lately... or chatting.)

Oh, most of them start off nice enough, but soon it degenerates into name-calling. All that they can throw at me for "reasons" to vote for Kerry or Nader or Camejo is that they "hate Bush."

When I sincerely ask them why and what he's done, I'm called a "mind-numbed robot of the right" or a "fuckin' fascist."

Actually, I'm just quite interested in finding out why they think this way. I am forced to believe that they come out of that idiotic Michael Moore movie and are itchin' for a fight. When I begin pointing out the fallacies of the movie and their own thought processes, they accuse me of being an "apologist for Bush." I'm not.

I'm very disillusioned with Bush for increasing the size of government rather than DEcreasing the size. I'm pissed at him for this Campaign Finance Reform which does nothing but give incumbents more power to get to the voter just before an election. I'm pissed at him for this Prescription Drug entitlement which my son will have to pay for with higher taxes. I'm pissed at him for a number of reasons, but compared with the rest of the field, I still think he's the best person for the job! (Otherwise, I'd vote Libertarian - I like the idea of smaller, lesser government and lower or even flat taxes.

Anyway, my "blocked" list grows and I've changed my email addy and delisted my IM name for now... though on the Yahoo Groups, it's fairly easy to figure out what the persons IM name is.

The weather was absolutely gorgeous this weekend. I just wish I was doing something that I felt were more... ingenuous... with my life.

For someone important out there that reads this regularly: I do love you and still miss you dearly.

8:51 p.m. - 2004-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble