pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

School Daze

Whew... yesterday was high school day, today was middle schoolers. Who had the sticker fingers? Who do you think!

Caught two of them today and thought I saw at least three others walk off with little baubles that only cost us pennies... but I couldn't prove it and didn't want to raise a fuss over something worth 3 cents.

Yesterday was interesting in that both types of Baptists came out. One was the type that, if you mentioned the word "magic" they said, "I reject your magic in the name of my Savior" *rolls eyes*; and the other was the type that wanted to see my finger armor, wanted to feel my finger armor on their arms or skin or cheek... you get the idea... Half of them had their eyes roll up in their heads in ecstasy when I touched them with the point. *laughs*

Middle schoolers have much more imagination though. I had fun with the finger armor again, telling them that "it causes no harm to the good *snicker*. I gave them a "dragon's blessing" by brushing their brows with glitter and saying, "May you continue to have the ethereal beauty of a faerie princess, the wisdom of a Queen and the patience of many saints." *laughs* When young boys asked for a blessing, I would tell them, "may the world refrain from turning you into a newt before you reach the front gate!" They enjoyed my doing this and I had to make up many more blessings on the spot when several young ladies would want it in a row. To get folks into the booth, I simply had to waggle the finger armor, blow kisses or just talk to them... as I put in an email to some of my friends though... so many cute little tush's (both High School and Middle School) and yet, so much jail time to consider! *LOL*

Tomorrow it will be the grade school kids. I'll have to flirt with the mom's there... but they should be in their 20's... *grins*

I've not had a chance to color my beard this month so it's gone pretty grey (which Mona will be happy to hear) but I've tried to trim it to look good. I'm still considering going back to a goatee.

Two things about where I'm at here in Louisiana... first, the accent. I expected everyone to talk like southerners holding a mouthfull of marbles. I mean, everyone I've met from LA that lived somewhere else, spoke like that guy from King of the Hill! But, I think with the proliferation of the internet, the modern mobile culture and the diaspora that has happened in the last 40 years, the "southern" accent is slowly becoming either metropolitanized or standardized... which is a shame.

I also wanted to clarify... I'm in the Tangipahoa Parish library. So I went looking, hoping to find that the word was Native American for something odd or silly such as it is up north, where "Chicago" actually is Indian for "smelly swamp onion." Unfortunately, the only thing I could find was that it meant "ear of corn" or "Those who gather corn" in the Acolapissa tribe language (See http://www.tangi-cvb.org/about.htm.) Whatever it is, I still can't get the pronounciation correct... hell, I've just learned how to pronounce "Metairie" properly (a suburb of New Orleans).

As it is, I'm (hopefully) shaking this cold and should be fairly cognizant of my surroundings come this weekend. I hope we make lots of money as well because I have to buy a plane ticket to Las Vegas and Reno - Son's wedding and meeting Mo, aka Mona, aka Cordelia.

Take care, everyone. Look for your birthday prezzie, Wenchy!

4:57 p.m. - 2004-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble