pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home 9-16-2006

843 miles in 16 hrs, 22 minutes pulling a trailer filled with my junk over the Appalachians with two elderly cats aboard... not a bad trip.
Apollo and Winston were wonderful! I expected Apollo to be yowling the whole time and Winston to be climbing all over my lap, needy for pets. Instead, they climbed through the "ski hole" in my back seat (1998 Chrysler Concorde LXi) and laid in the nice, dark cave I constructed there, putting bags and boxes around their cat box.
I had worried as my passenger side window is stuck open enough for them to crawl out, but they didn't even budge when I would stop to pee or get gasoline. It was a far more agreeable trip than I expected.
Several people called me to make sure I was doing well and keep me awake on my trip and I'm grateful to them... Kat, Lindsey and Lynette! Thank you.
The beginning wasn't without it's bits of drama, though. I'd been moving out of the apartment all day on Thursday, leaving the door open. The cat's pretty much slept through that as well (though they were very worried when I got out suitcases... those items always mean that they are going to be left alone for several days). They didn't seem to be interested in escaping. At 5 pm. I had five boxes left to put into the car. My plan was to leave at 6pm and avoid the majority of traffic once out of Raleigh. When I looked around for the cats to put them into the cat carrier...
No Winston.
I looked...
Outside, inside, in all his haunts� no Winston. I called him. I called him everywhere. No answer. Apollo was there, looking at me in his passive way, but no Winston.

For THREE HOURS, I looked for that cat� Then my neighbor came home and offered to buy me dinner and then walked her dog, helping to try and find him. Disgusted, I finished packing, muttering that, if he wasn�t back by the time I was ready to leave, I was going to leave without him.

I finished packing and then took a shower. I changed, gathered the last of my stuff up and�

Winston is standing at the bathroom door.

We got going. I�m now home in Indiana and cleaning.

I�ll be cleaning for the next three weeks. I mean, consider that I had to clean the kitchen just enough to feel comfortable COOKING my food (not eating� COOKING)

I�ve a lot ahead of me� *sighs*

6:10 p.m. - 2006-09-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble