pyroguysr's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For Mom

"The Valley of Strathmore"
Andy M Stewart





Okay, I've had a bit of a cry and got out some grief. Suddenly, I realize how much I miss her... but not "her, the gasping, wheezing, dying lady" I'd known the last year and a half but, "her, the Mom, the quiet, strong-willed woman who had a quick laugh and a gentle touch."

Mom wasn't beautiful by any stretch of the imagination. But, damn it, they lasted almost 50 years together.




And Mom, for all that you hated Irish / Scottish accents and music, this song is for you:

By the clear and the winding streams
In the Valley of Strathmore,
Where my love and I have been,
Where we'll wander nevermore.


But if time was a thing Man could buy,
All the money that I have in store,
I would give for one day by her side,
In the Valley of Strathmore.

From the glen of the golden and green
I left for a land far away
Where sadness has never been seen
And joy only costs a day's pay.

But if time was a thing Man could buy,
All the money that I have in store,
I would give for one day by her side,
In the Valley of Strathmore.

In Strathmore there's a long working day
For a man wi' his hands on the ploo
But it's work I'd be happy tae dae,
If at night I were lyin' wi' you.

But if time was a thing Man could buy,
All the money that I have in store,
I would give for one day by her side,
In the Valley of Strathmore.

As I take a long draught from my glass
Oh I'm drinking alone here again
And I try no' to think o' my lass
For the old days will ne'er come again.�


Anyone know who the guy in the video is?� He looks VERY familiar in a Renfaire sort of way.�

9:44 p.m. - 2008-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

minnapop
sbsneech
mrscoble
loversvanity
jellyrose
buttwhore
zalitar
newsoulie
orsimblossim
fleureurope
hissandtell
secretinside
elgorbo
nightdragon
grassyknoll
bindyree
lady-frenzy
breakthedark
nilliem
bettyford
sketty
scotvalkyrie
kungfukitten
joiedv
nimbus-
off-book
tudor-diva
petmykittie
chasngghosts
onewithout
degausser
prisscoble